We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #73 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The guys on front of house know what they are doing: attentive and considerate. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the room and the size of the bed for 2 was excellent ( they also changed the 1 monster duvet for 2 at a moments notice). The bathroom was great. The internet connection was terrible, the default 128kbps is from the stone age. For this type of hotel and me as a guest this is unforgivable. There is alot of maintenance of the building going on at the moment (13/2/2013) that meant noise at 8am and then not alot after 8.15am??. Be careful when you are booking that you remember to order the breakfast - its not part of what i got (20 euro extra :-( he gym and sauna in the basement are first class. All in all good from the people but a little disappointing from the amount they are asking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lau B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit to the Amsterdam American Hotel and your feedback.

In March, the WIFI capacity will be doubled, enabling faster use. We believe that this should improve your impression and perception given the importance that you have given to this aspect.

Renovations on the exterior will continue until May. Further improvements will then be to the interior with less inconvenience.

With best regrads,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,778 - 1,784 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at this fine hotel. The reception is modern and contemporary and blends well with the historic and traditional features. The Cafe Americain has a lively buzz but there are quiet corners to enjoy a romantic meal and the food was excellent and theatre menu particularly good value. The location of the hotel is ideal. We would like to thank all the staff for an excellent stay and particularly the reservations manager, Bob Spierings for his dealing with our booking in such a polite and professional manner. We will be back!

Room Tip: Some refurbishment is presently going on so I suggest check the current situation directly with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and for posting a review.

We are happy to hear that you had an excellent stay and that the services provided did exceed your expectations.

Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed from Friday to Sunday with a large group of friends and were dealt with efficiently on arrival and departure.

Our room 327 was on the third floor on the Marnixstraat side. It was unfortunate that at the time of our visit the hotel was currently undergoing refurbishment of the exterior and scaffold surrounds two elevations, otherwise we could have used the sizeable balcony.

Breakfast was very good, however the bar is a bit pricey and doesn't open till 5.00!

The room was a good size and facilities were excellent, however, the trams can be heard early in the morning, and there was considerable noise from the people in the room above - it sounded like there was tag wrestling match going on!! The bed was massive, but only had very small pillows! If we had been staying longer would probably have asked for bigger ones!

It is a superb location, as we went on the canal cruise from literally the front door. Tram stop outside, although you are right in the city centre within a few minutes walk.

Only after we had checked out did we find a gym/sauna in the basement (looking for the toilets). Could do with a bit more signage.

Room Tip: Try and get one on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your feedback.

Regretfully you were not aware of our fitness-sauna facilities and pillow alternatives.

Alternative pillows are always availbale. We shall improve communication on this, perhaps in the form of a "pillow menu". We shall look into how we can improve the signage to the sauna.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from week end stay at this hotel . Location is good but decor is very tired and it is difficult to believe that anyone would descibe it as luxury .
Staff is polite and rooms are clean but what else is to be expected from the hotel ? Hotel rating should be no more 3 star and priced accordingly . There are many very nice hotels in Amsterdam and much better value for money .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayesgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and review posting.

A lot of efforts and investments are currently being spend to give the "old lady" a well-deserved upgrade.

Hopefully on your next visit to Amsterdam you are able to convince yourself of the improvements.


With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely breakfast, and the room was fantastic with extra long beds. The breakfast buffet was big! But the view wasn't that exciting... Nice staff, and the hotell is located in a popular area. Many restaurants is located nearby. I can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AavantGaarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your feedback.

Good to hear that your stay was very satisfactory. It will be our pleasure to continue and improve product and services even more.


With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been going to the Cafe at the American Hotel for over 25 years. It has always been one of my favourite places to have breakfast in Amsterdam. I have had breakfast there with friends, as a guest of the hotel and even just when visiting Amsterdam for the day. So now that I live in Amsterdam, I was looking forward to having a breakfast there, and when a colleague from LA was visiting I jumped at the opportunity to introduce him to the American Hotel's breakfasts.

Showing up at the Cafe on a Sunday morning at about 10:20am, I was shocked when I was told by the waiter that they only served breakfast to their guests. I know this to be clearly nonsense, and protested. Finally, after talking to the Duty Manager, I was told that we could eat there, but that we had to be out by 11:00. By then that gave us 20 minutes.

It wasn't so much that we were denied a seat, though that was surprising, nor that we had to be out by 11:00, which was absurd for a cafe that is open all day, but that I was treated so rudely. It was the first time in 25 years that I was treated by that at the American Hotel. I guess that they too, like so many others, are just loosing any sense of service.

I am afraid that I have to recommend that others now give the American Hotel a miss. As a 25 year customer, I now feel so offended and shocked by my experience that I think I may never go back again. This makes me very sad, but the experience has really destroyed the experience for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank b_robin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your feedback.

With regret we notice that communication fell short upon your visit to the restaurant. We apologise for an approach that seemed not as professional as may be expected.

We apologise for a performance that you are not used to.

Could you contact us in order for us to communicate in detail?


Thank you and best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is elegant luxury, nothing was to much trouble for the friendly courtious staff especially Stefan who was always so obliging in helping us with posting our excess luggage home, and any other queries we had, excellent service Stefan. The spacious split level junior suite room 115 with sit on balcony and canal view was stunning, a definate wow factor.It was spotlessly clean, tea/coffee maker,stocked mini bar, air conditioned. Large bathroom with over bath shower.
The hotel is close to the leidseplein district and is ideally situated close to the square with its eateries, shops,trams, buses, everything you need.
The stocked mini bar is electronic so everytime you take something out it registers, a bit hard when you only use half bottle,or the milk being taken out and in. could do with a shelf thats not electronic to accomadate this.
We highly recommend this hotel and cannot believe its not 5 star, would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: what are your requirements ask questions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and your feedback.

It is with pleasure that we conclude from your posting that the experience did exceed your expectations.

We shall continue to keep up and improve the standards in order to facilitate the same consistent experience.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#50 of 374 in Amsterdam
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#113 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $153 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing