We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #72 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and the tram passes right outside of the hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious. I visited 5 different hotels in Europe, and this was the most roomy. We had a large balcony that overlooked the canal and the street. Great views during the day and night.
The hotel is 8 minutes from the main train station, and almost 30 from the Schiphol airport.
The airport offers a shuttle to the airport for around 40 euros. We took the tram to the main train station for 4 euros and paid additional 12 euros to the Schiphol. It is very easy and convenient. unless you have many baggage and don't care about spending the extra money

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slavica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 3,216 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Amsterdam is def a city worth visiting as it has everyting for everybody.
I stayed at the American Hotel which you could not fault on location. You could walk to everywhere from here or simply take the tram which just stops outside. Room was lovely and clean and surprisingly not that noisy. Food in the hotel was also rather nice, but I tended to eat out a lot as the city had so much to offer.. It is a hotel I def would choose when I come back to Amsterdam again...

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katashaSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Excellent service! My room just happened to be ready when I arrived at 10:30 AM. I know this is not usual, although coming off of a 10 hour flight, it was great to check in and shower before exploring the city.

The staff was friendly and personable. The rooms are large for the money, coupled with the great cafe downstairs and the location, I will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is very centrally situated in Amsterdam. The airport bus, which runs every 30 minutes, stops just outside the hotel. The tram, which can be boarded just minutes from the hotel, runs right through the centre of Amsterdam. The staff in the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and have tea and coffee facilities. An ice machine is situated just down the corridor. On checking out of the hotel, a room is available to store luggage, and spacious and clean toilets are available. There are numerous good eating places within minutes walk from the hotel. A small supermarket is situated about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel is also close to a park and a number of very beautiful canals and bridges.

Room Tip: Ask for a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The American hotel lies directly at the Leidseplein. A very nice hotel, with a great service and large rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Amoraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the edge of a major restaurant area and accessible to the museum plaza by a short walk, the hotel is attractive for visitors who want to get to the museums early in the day and have dinner within a short walk. The tram to the central train station and the bus to the airport are one minute from the hotel entrance. The hotel is not top class, but there were some dirty towels left in the bathroom, but all in all, it was a good base for a six-night stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the canal and on the top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel website states that wireless internet is free. Technically, this is true but the internet that is provided for free is so slow, my server was timing out as I tried to receive my e-mails. When I called to see if this could be fixed, I was told that that "bronze" service that is offered at no charge is very slow. In order to get a connection with adequate speed, I would need to pay 20 Euro.

I won't be back and I advise others to shop around as there are much better deals. I do not deal with businesses that advertise falsely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#75 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#51 of 374 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#115 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $156 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing