We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Ranked #77 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The American hotel lies directly at the Leidseplein. A very nice hotel, with a great service and large rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Amoraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    1,174
    402
    141
    69
See reviews for
343
1,409
185
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
T
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the edge of a major restaurant area and accessible to the museum plaza by a short walk, the hotel is attractive for visitors who want to get to the museums early in the day and have dinner within a short walk. The tram to the central train station and the bus to the airport are one minute from the hotel entrance. The hotel is not top class, but there were some dirty towels left in the bathroom, but all in all, it was a good base for a six-night stay.

Room Tip: A room facing the canal and on the top floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel website states that wireless internet is free. Technically, this is true but the internet that is provided for free is so slow, my server was timing out as I tried to receive my e-mails. When I called to see if this could be fixed, I was told that that "bronze" service that is offered at no charge is very slow. In order to get a connection with adequate speed, I would need to pay 20 Euro.

I won't be back and I advise others to shop around as there are much better deals. I do not deal with businesses that advertise falsely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The elevator key card system did not always work, without multiple retries. Our room carpet was stained. The internet service was not availabe in the rooms but free in the public areas. However the restaurant was quite good. The location was excellent.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

With a room at 180 EUR / night, you would expect good, reliable and free Wi-Fi. Well, its all the contrary, you get an internet access of 128 kps, which is the equivalent of the Internet at the Stone Age. It is slow, very slow, unreliable and very, very irratating. Each page takes about 1 min to load completely.

Also, the code never worked for my room and I had to use one time codes every day for each of my devices.

Even if the staff was very helpful, do not go to this hotel if you need an internet access. Just forget it, end of story.

What could have been a pleasent stay was ruined by the time lost to try connecting to their internet.

Personal message to the management: make the Wi-Fi free to connect, no password, no nothing, just like at the Apple Store round the corner of your hotel. Charge an extra 10 EUR per room if you wish but just stop wasting people's time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American-Management, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We are sorry to hear that our services did not meet with your expectations.

We have indeed high-speed internet vouchers available at a fee of 7,50 euro. Our business center has four terminals with free high speed internet acces. Furthermore are we in the process of expanding the bandwith of the WIFI network in the entire hotel.

Please inform us if these options are suffcient for you.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, LA USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel has a great location, 4 computers with printers for free use, 10% canal cruise discount, and provided a free map of Amsterdam. Our room was an interior room (with no view) and a bit small/tight around the bed, but nice mattress and very quiet. Overall, this was a great stay and we'd definitely return.

To get there from Schiphol Airport, take the City Bus 197 from in front of Schiphol (only 4 Euro/person) and drops you at the Leidesplein stop right in front of the hotel. The hotel is surrounded by bus/tram stops that can take you anywhere in the city (GVB bus/tram pass for 24 hrs is 7.60 Euro).

Area around the hotel is full of dining and shopping options. Easily walk to museums, flower market, Heineken experience, and Blue Boat Canal Cruise.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are very quiet, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkies04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the American Hotel for four nights in August. It was a welcome relief from the cramped, dingy hotel we stayed at while in Paris. For the same amount of money, we had a large room (even by American hotel standards) with a view of the Leidesplein. No noise during the night, even though the square was apparently "THE" happening place to be at night in Amsterdam. The beds were comfortable, the room immaculate and the bathroom had a deep soaking tub. The bath toiletries were awesome - "Rituals" is a Netherland brand and there are two stores in Amsterdam where you can purchase their items. I bought a bagful of items to take home. The staff were extremely helpful; all spoke English and were very pleasant. There's a lobby full of computers with printers and cell-phone chargers available for guests. Be sure to visit the American Cafe to view the amazing period architecture. There are lots of restaurants and bars in the immediate area and it's a short walk to the city center. We took the trolley that stops right in front of the hotel to get to the airport. It was cheap, and dropped us right in front of the terminal. We know that when we return to Amsterdam we will certainly stay at the American Eden Hotel again.

Room Tip: Try dinner at one of the dozens of cafes in the area. There's something for every taste and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetLagQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American
Address: Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American has a rich history. In 1882, the first hotel guests stayed at this unique location on Leidseplein. The current building dates from 1902 and is a wonderful example of Jugenstil. Right at the centre of this national monument is Cafe Americain, the hotspot where (hotel) guests and Amsterdam residents enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Amsterdam American reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing