We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Incredible!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 3,373 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I would fly back to Amsterdam just to taste the sensational dishes from Max's once again. The scallop starter was divine, every mouthful amazed me and the cinnamon caramel sauce was unreal. The spicy chicken salad was beautiful, light but oh so flavoursome and the indonesian seabass filet was so full of complementary flavours and spices, I was left in awe. To top off the most amazing meal I have ever tasted, the staff were so friendly and accommodating and I loved the presence of the voluntary donation for the homeless on the bill, a thoughtful and incredible restaurant! Thinking about flying back there right now just so I can experience it once more!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Eigenaar at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you and you're welcome,

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    372
    63
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, don't miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a fantastic evening at Max. The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations and were very attentive throughout. From delicious delicate scallops to the fiery kick of the beef curry and ending with perfectly cooked sea bass, our taste buds were tempted, tickled and tantelized. We left happy and full. Thanks to the amazing service and chefs at Max!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fantastic restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I recently ate at Max with my husband a 2 grown up children and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We had not eaten Indonesian food before so the tasting menu was excellent and gave us a wide selection of tasty treats to try out.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - they were extremely welcoming and friendly.
I would definitely go back next time we are visiting Amsterdam and would recommend to anyone.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fionad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Indonesian/French fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went here on recommendation and were not disappointed. The food was excellent and varied. We ordered specific items from the menu, but watching the other tables being served, wished we had gone with the taster menu.....

Max the owner is a charming and hospitable gentleman -we will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this after glancing at trip advisor, purely to see In what direction the restaurants were. The food was amazing! Having the tasting menu was the best way forward allowing us to sample pretty much the entire menu. The small elegant dishes came out as we journeyed through taste and temperature, starting with mild to hot, so to not ruin our taste buds. I was pleasantly surprised that they were more than willing to replenish any of the dishes, however we were already to full by this stage.
The staff were lovely and perfectly attentive without being overbearing.

Our only regret was that it ruined many other meals for us in Amsterdam which didn't live up to their reviews.

Truly a gem in Amsterdam and a must!

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thanks and hopefully see you next time again,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing