We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 3,760 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $65
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I was lucky to get a table on a busy night (I stepped in the door around 6.30 pm and was able to get a table that was booked from 8.30, ample time for a solitary dinner). The staff was friendly and efficient even though the place filled up quite quickly, and the food was wonderful!
I had the best scallops I have ever had as a starter, and after a main course of asparagus with smoked salmon i didn't really need a dessert, but 'layered Indonesian spice cake with apple cinnamon ice cream' was too interesting to pass by, and I did not regret it. Strongly recommended!
Even as I was leaving, the head waiter took a few minutes to give me some tips on what to do next. I will definitely go back next time I'm in Amsterdam, and then I'll book beforehand to make sure I get a table,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Solveig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    425
    77
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific rijstaffel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Max does rijstaffel right! The food was fresh, the tastes varied, and none of the tired old standbys. Wonderful meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerryI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Yeah, thank you and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Hope to welcome you soon again,

Max' staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, a must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We decided to visit MAX on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews. We emailed in advance to book a table and received a swift response confirming our booking. As is when you do these thing, we wondered whether we would be disappointed when we arrived. I can promise you we weren't! After perusing the menu online at home we opted for the tasting menu. We had chicken satay to start, which was unlike any we had ever tasted, in a good way! Then came the 7 course main menu, a selection of all the dishes on the menu, absolutely delicious and a great chance to taste a little bit of everything if, as we do, you find it difficult to choose. The dessert was a gingerbread layer cake, which we weren't too sure of, but as with the rest of the meal was delicious and exceeded our expectations. The staff were attentive, friendly and efficient, the prices were very reasonable considering the quality and service we received. Thanks MAX, if we return to Amsterdam we will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flinty17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ottimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Very good. Food is fine, although spicy. Bass is delicious. Service is friendly and kind. Easy to reach and It is pleasant dinner at all

Helpful?
Thank Sasà L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drobak, Norway
Level Contributor
330 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great value and tasty food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

This restaurant gives you 100% ROI. The service is unformal, nice and the food is very good.
Try the tasting menu, lots of food with great tast.
Go there!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joacimnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and giving your recommendation about our Indonesian tasting menu. It is a tasty introduction of good Indonesian food as my mum used to make them for me. The balance of using spicy, salty, sweet, sauer ingredients is the target of our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing