We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“number one in amsterdam??? sure no!)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $50 - $61
Cuisines: European, Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“number one in amsterdam??? sure no!)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Hi people! We were with my wife at the restaurant on Sunday 08.12.2013. they had a few tables and the audience that knew the owner of the restaurant ....Not bad) Very narrow aisles, no interior, narrow and uncomfortable tables and chairs .... My girlfriend ordered a card of 2-course menu, I Indonesian three-course menu. my starter was gorgeous, but the main dish was nothing (((her starter was nothing, but the duck from the menu was super! Shiraz was good for 25 Euro-reasonable price ..... About prices: 2-course menu 29 euros, the Indonesian menu of 3 courses 35 euros .... It would be good, if not half of the menu was tasteless ((((Conclusion: In Amsterdam there are a surprising number of places where you can eat for two and drink a bottle of wine for less than 100 euros for two! PS we were paying with 500 Euro Bill and the owner had the opportunity to exchange us, though it made ​​him what that anxiety-he told us that in Holland nobody has money and pay all with the cards .... when we broughtus the change, the owner came running to us in a couple of minutes and looked as we left the tip waiters .... It was very rude and indecent ...from 90 euros in our bill, we left only 3.5 euro-tip with a hint of improvement in food and service! probably thatswhy he did not say goodbye to us))))) In addition, another remark: we do not want to eat a lot, we just wanted to eat something and drink wine .... The owner told us, it is not possible: every visitor must order menu!)))) Which we did and were disappointed in the quality! Wishing to the owner and the restaurant, love your customers, treat carefully and correctly to the dishes you prepare. You position yourself as the number one restaurant in Amsterdam, but apparently do still not ready for this not morally, not physically. Is no different from a good restaurant with prices in 2 times less! good luck to you and work on yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We like to welcome everyone from all over the world who wants to try and hopefully enjoy our food but we don't like them who come to MAX for the reason because we are high ranked and actually do not like Indonesian food or spicy food at all. Just playing with their smart phones all the time while having dinner.
And to be honest I don't like to have guest who insists to pay with 500 euro note and explained me how common it is to pay with a 500 note in Moscow. No sir, this behaviour is not common here in Amsterdam.
Ok, that joke about the tip was rude after that..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Max and it certainly won't be the last!!!

Lovely restaurant, very cosy, and nicely decorated, amazing food...the 3 course Indonesian set menu was amazing!!! staff were very friendly, and efficient. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

This place is a little gem, and is a must if your in the dam. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank PaulDM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Yeah ! Thank you !
Promise, we will keep the good work.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went there for dinner on Saturday night after a few drinks in Tales and Spirits, was worried about getting a table without booking but they managed to fit us in even though it was just after 7pm and said we could have the table until 9pm which was more than long enough - if we'd come in later we might not have been so lucky! We had the taster menu which was great value with an amazing starter of chicken satay salad and then a selection of main courses (the sea bass, chicken and beef curry were especially good but all of them were really tasty!) and a dessert of layer cake, mango sorbet and cinnamon ice cream. For €35 each (+ a bottle of Cotes du Rhone at €35) it was the best value high end meal I've ever had, the service was great and I left a really expensive scarf at the table and they actually dashed down the road after me to give it back!! Can't recommend this place enough and would definitely go back the next time in Amsterdam - thanks to all the staff for an amazing night, top class!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natlis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for writing this friendly review about us.
We always try to keep some tables free for early walk ins. Even without reservation It's worth to try this during the early evening or later in the evening because there are still rude bad habbit people who made reservation but did not show up and we like to give those tables to nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We choose this restaurant to celebrate my wife's special birthday, and booked through our hotel a few days before we arrived in Amsterdam. This was an excellent choice - we were not disappointed! Good menu selection, we went for the taster menu. This was superb, one of the best meals we have had this year. The service and ambience was excellent. We loved the extra touches, as our hotel had obviously tipped them off about my wife's birthday. Yes, we strongly recommend this restaurant without hesitation

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this magical city. Truly the Venice of Europe. Our wonderful Dutch friends introduced us to this restaurant. A favorite of theirs. We would never have found it otherwise. Decor was modern, great ambiance and attentive staff. Really worth another visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fremantlesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments. Please try next time also our Interantional (not Indonesian) food. I wonder what you would say about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing