We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #29 of 3,373 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

First visit to Max and it certainly won't be the last!!!

Lovely restaurant, very cosy, and nicely decorated, amazing food...the 3 course Indonesian set menu was amazing!!! staff were very friendly, and efficient. The price was very reasonable for the quality of the food.

This place is a little gem, and is a must if your in the dam. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank PaulDM1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Yeah ! Thank you !
Promise, we will keep the good work.

Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    373
    63
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went there for dinner on Saturday night after a few drinks in Tales and Spirits, was worried about getting a table without booking but they managed to fit us in even though it was just after 7pm and said we could have the table until 9pm which was more than long enough - if we'd come in later we might not have been so lucky! We had the taster menu which was great value with an amazing starter of chicken satay salad and then a selection of main courses (the sea bass, chicken and beef curry were especially good but all of them were really tasty!) and a dessert of layer cake, mango sorbet and cinnamon ice cream. For €35 each (+ a bottle of Cotes du Rhone at €35) it was the best value high end meal I've ever had, the service was great and I left a really expensive scarf at the table and they actually dashed down the road after me to give it back!! Can't recommend this place enough and would definitely go back the next time in Amsterdam - thanks to all the staff for an amazing night, top class!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natlis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for writing this friendly review about us.
We always try to keep some tables free for early walk ins. Even without reservation It's worth to try this during the early evening or later in the evening because there are still rude bad habbit people who made reservation but did not show up and we like to give those tables to nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We choose this restaurant to celebrate my wife's special birthday, and booked through our hotel a few days before we arrived in Amsterdam. This was an excellent choice - we were not disappointed! Good menu selection, we went for the taster menu. This was superb, one of the best meals we have had this year. The service and ambience was excellent. We loved the extra touches, as our hotel had obviously tipped them off about my wife's birthday. Yes, we strongly recommend this restaurant without hesitation

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this magical city. Truly the Venice of Europe. Our wonderful Dutch friends introduced us to this restaurant. A favorite of theirs. We would never have found it otherwise. Decor was modern, great ambiance and attentive staff. Really worth another visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fremantlesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments. Please try next time also our Interantional (not Indonesian) food. I wonder what you would say about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Where in Amsterdam for 2 nights and went both nights to here.first night just my wife and me had the taster menu was brilliant service was excellent. Went 2nd night with 2 other couples same great standards and service do yourself a favour and book here Max keep up the good work. Will definitely return when next in Amsterdam

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for coming 2 times in a row in 1 weekend. Thank you a lot for enjoying our restaurant and hope we will meet again here at MAX Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing