We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 3,905 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Indonesian outside of Asia”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this magical city. Truly the Venice of Europe. Our wonderful Dutch friends introduced us to this restaurant. A favorite of theirs. We would never have found it otherwise. Decor was modern, great ambiance and attentive staff. Really worth another visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fremantlesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic compliments. Please try next time also our Interantional (not Indonesian) food. I wonder what you would say about that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,194
    437
    82
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Where in Amsterdam for 2 nights and went both nights to here.first night just my wife and me had the taster menu was brilliant service was excellent. Went 2nd night with 2 other couples same great standards and service do yourself a favour and book here Max keep up the good work. Will definitely return when next in Amsterdam

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for coming 2 times in a row in 1 weekend. Thank you a lot for enjoying our restaurant and hope we will meet again here at MAX Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharm el sheikh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked here from trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The ambiance is cosy and vibrant, service was very attentive and friendly and the food tasty with excellent presentation. In one word ''superb". Book as it is very popular and you will have a fantastic feast for the palate!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaTaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to place this nice review.
Yes, I also like to use Tripadvisor when I'm abroad. It's a good site where you can see what other's experiences are about the ambiance, location, food, staff and price and it's also up to you if you like to share those experiences :-)
Thank you for sharing your Max' experience at Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indonesian cuisine”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at Max's enormously. The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was very good. While the prices were a little high for the value, we would probably dine here again. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Max who is mentioned is so many reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzie--USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited MAX back in October. The service was excellent from the start. I emailed to reserve a table for a Monday night, Max the owner came back straight away to explain he was closed but will be open to friends & if we were happy with only the owner as a waiter we were welcome to join them. What ensued was a night of delicious wine and food & excellent service!! We had the taster menue which I highly recommend! By the end of the night the place was packed as Max was too polite to turn business away!
Already recommended to others!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen6311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
What a lovely review. Thanks !
It's true, If there's a possibility we like to welcome our guests with open arms and give a nice table if we still have one. Early walk ins are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing