We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy restaurant in Jordaan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Herenstraat 14 | Jordaan area, 1015 CA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 420 0222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 3,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice cosy restaurant in Jordaan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were there on Friday night. Atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice and the service was nothing to complain about. We had a 3 course menu which was really tasty and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    964
    361
    60
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and a wee bit different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was really keen to try the "rice table" on our visit to Amsterdam, as had been recommended it, so after checking the reviews we picked Max, and we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is modern and smaller than I imagined but looks great. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. And the food was delicious, the only reason it wasn't a five star is unfortunately for me I don't eat bean sprouts (in the starter) or cinnamon (in the dessert) all the main courses however were faultless, and the rest of my party loved everything. Highly recommend for a special meal out in Amsterdam

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Duck was outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice early dinner proved to be a good stop and time to visit this restaurant. Started with scallops and caprese salad which were great. Duck was awesome and FULL CONFIT. Husband had Max's Classic which was good, but not very spicy as listed. Moral of the story--get the duck!

Helpful?
Thank Laurasaleem
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for praising the Duck. Happy to read that :-)
Next time (I hope soon) don't be shy to ask for our Indonesian sambal, a spicy paste to make some dish spicier. It's the way to give your personal right level of spicy to your food. Sambal.
Thanks again for your nice review, Max.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of Indonesia in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Max for dinner on our last evening in Amsterdam based on the reviews from tripadvisor and I must say that the positive reviews are all warranted. We had the Indonesian theee-course dinner for ?35 pp, which started with a delicious salad of bean sprouts, cucumber, sugar peas and chicken satay. The entree was a sharing plate of different meat and vegetable curry dishes and a lemongrass seabass filet with rice. The dishes were flavourful and we were so full that we had to forego dessert! The ambience was warm and the service was friendly. What a great way to end our short visit to Amsterdam.

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a good review for our food and service.
We always try to give the right portion and not to serve too much food and usually it works well, but sometimes it can be still a lot. Especially if we give some extra's of those good food :-)
Next time: End your Amsterdam dinner with The Max' banana pie with vanilla ice and coconut rum sauce !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
“Good good, crappy service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Max is not a good guy. His servants work very hard, but they are too few. Food is awesome, service is awful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goodgiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Max is not a Good Guy, he's the mean Bad Guy. Cool. :-)
Are you sure that you were at the right place? or is MAX Amsterdam just not the right place for you?
But thank you anyway for the compliments for the staff. It's true they work hard.
Regards,
Mr. Bad Guy Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing