We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent indonesian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $65
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent indonesian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

During our trip to Amsterdam we spontanously decided to enjoy indonesian food and we showed up at Max. It is a stylish and friendly small restauarnt in the Jordaan quarter. The first look at the menue was a bit disillusioning about the prices. But we decided to order the big menu. It was perfect from the starter on, great taste of spices and always a big portion. The service was very good, always friendly and attentive.
It was definitely worth to spend a bit more money than planned. Take the chance to enjoy your diner at Max.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stranger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a positive review about us and good to know that you enjoyed our International food.
We have a special 3 course good Indonesian tasting menu for 35 euro (starter, main course and dessert) and we also have the a la carte International menu with an option in 2 course 29 euro, 3 course 37 euro and 4 course 45 euro.
Good food needs also option in good wines, Prices are between 20 euro till 85 euro for a Grand Cru Bordeaux Saint Emilion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    427
    77
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Something different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stylish restaurant offering Indonesian food as well as a standard set menu. Two of us had the Indonesian rice table meal which was a selection of dishes to share, this was very good. The sea bream from the set menu was well cooked and came with a zingy tomato sauce . Dessert came as a big sharing plate with the most delicious cake, ice cream and banana tarte tatin. Service was speedy and the guy on duty that night (the owner perhaps ? ) was particularly attentive. This was an expensive meal but we felt it was worth it for the quality of food we had and the atmosphere in the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty Indonesian in the Jordaan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We reserved this restaurant a couple months in advance for our group of 5 adults and one infant. Our table was waiting for us when we arrived. The menu looked great but we opted for the 3 course Indonesian menu. This was a great choice. The first course was chicken satay over greens. It was superb. The next was the main course which was a sampling of the different Indonesian choices on the menu. Every one was fantastic and very unique and flavorful. These included chicken curry, curried eggplant, fresh salad, lamb curried meatballs, curried fish and rice. This was followed by a multi-piece dessert of Indonesian spice cake, banana fritter, cinnamon and mango ice cream, melon, and chocolate brownie. Again, all were great. We enjoyed a nice bottle of Viognier wine and water. The bill came to 210€ before tip.

We left feeling full, well served and very satisfied. If you like Asian food and don't mind a little spice this place is great and we would eat here again in the future without a doubt.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wpgdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect last meal in amsterdam!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i had a 10pm flight so after we retrieved our bags at 6pm from the friendly and funky b&b where we stayed (The Blue Sheep which was great) we rolled the three blocks over to Max. I had emailed Max earlier and he replied promptly which was so nice as we tried not to use our cellphones. He graciously tucked our bags out of sight and let us sit upstairs in advance of a big party coming in later. We had a fantastic rijstaffel selection. Every dish just the right amount and an explosion of flavors. A lovely way to leave a lovely country. Thank you, Max!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words.
It was a pleasure to have guests like you. Happy to be suprised. Happy with your experiences.
Pretty energy.
Hope you'll visit Amsterdam soon again and that we'll meet again.
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This restaurant has it all - great food, pleasant decor, passionate and attentive owner, a real value! It was the highlight of our culinary experiences on this trip, including some formidable competition in Rome. My husband and son had the set menu with a wonderful chicken satay starter followed by a selection of curries. I had the carmelized scallop appetizer with cinnamon - absolutely fabulous preparation. The owner gave us great advice on both food and wine choices. The restaurant is small and clearly becoming well known, so it would be a good idea to reserve ahead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing