We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $59 - $71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After reading all the reviews on here, it seemed to be somewhere that was worth a visit.

We made a reservation for Friday night, but were actually told that due to the holidays it probably wouldnt have been necessary to have done so. All I can say is I am glad we did, because when we arrived at 8:30, there were only 2 tables left, and one of those was the one we had reserved.

Service was initially slow, with only 2 waiters working and having to cover upstairs and downstairs and they both seemed to be rushing around. It was probably near on 5 minutes before we received our menus. Whilst this doesnt sound a massive amount of time, you do become more aware of the fact you are waiting the longer it goes on.

The waiter though was very friendly, and quickly brought us our drinks after we had ordered them.

I also asked them for their preferance between 2 starters and he was very good in giving his choice. It was delicous (Bang Bang Chicken). In fact our whole meal was lovely.

The ambience in the restuarant was lgreat, and made for a very romantic meal.

It was not overly cheap, coming to just under 100 euros for their 2 course menu and a bottle of wine. It was a very enjoyable meal, and the price is probably in line with what you would pay for a decent restaurant in any major city.

We would most certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Manager at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write this review and I can remember that you came into the restaurant on Friday afternoon around 4 pm to check if it's still possible to make a reservation for the the same (Friday) evening and my answer was: yes you still can because it's not that busy this weekend, it's not fully booked yet due the official Dutch Spring Holiday in Amsterdam but why shouldn't you make a reservation now if you are already here? And you did. Even that Holiday weekend we were packed. We are packed almost every weekend and some weekends already fully booked days/ weeks before.
I'm glad that you made the reservation and enjoyed the meal and the friendly quick service even that you had to wait for almost 5 minutes for your menu after you were seated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    442
    83
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel. The food was amazing and the service/atmosphere excellent. We initially only opted for 2 courses but both could not resist trying the deserts after the quality of the starter and main.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very happy in line with other reviews”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated together in a family setting. My wife and myself took the Balinese chicken as appetiser and the seabass as main dish. Former was very good, thanks to the spices and the presentation (quality of the chicken itself could have been better), latter was great on all aspects. Our son took the 2 beef dishes and was very satisfied as well. We took as desserts the banana pie (great choice - it doesn't say so on the menu but it comes with ice cream) and the poached pear (also excellent, still banana pie was more original). Decor is modern and stylish. Sure there are other Indonesian restaurants serving similar dishes in A'dam but here it is the package (details, decoration, ambiance and service) that make the difference. We did notice that the place was filling up by 9pm when we left and I wonder how the single waiter would cope with this? I would recommend the owner to add some half bottle wines to his menu. All together a great evening!!!

Helpful?
Thank Lekker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for this nice review and thank that you enjoyed your time at MAX restaurant and like our menu and especially that you like our Indonesian spiced specials.
Even we serve very well Indonesian food and even some of them are very authentic cooked with fresh spices and traditional Boemboe to prepare the real Indonesian dishes, is still important to know that MAX restaurant is not only an Indonesian restaurant. MAX has an International cuisine with creative use of spices.
Here you can Scallops, Rilette, Magret de canard and Asian specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We decided to eat at this restaurant after reading the fantastic reviews it received on TripAdvisor,
and we were not disappointed.
We decided to take a cab to the restaraunt and it snowed during our trip and their was a lot of ice about , but it is about a 10 minute walk from Dam square.
The food is a fusion of european and Indonesian cuisine and it was fabulous.
we bout had 3 course and a bottle of wine and coffees and the bill came to aprrox 100 euro, and we both felt this was well worth it for the amazing food and service.
If you get a chance do try the restaurant

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southernalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your good and warm review. Hope we will see you next time again in a warmer Amsterdam with a nice weather to stroll around the Neighboorhood. This summer?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Coped with a large group with ease”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

I was in the group of 35 as per the review from EddieYork below. Considering how many of us there were, they did a superb job. Not only was the food prepared and served without a long delay, the waiters knew exactly who had ordered what food on each table without needing to ask. This is great, because normally when you have a really large group there is always lots of confusion over who ordered what!
The food was full of flavour (some of it quite spicy) and very fresh. Good atmosphere and generally an excellent time was had by all. Well done MAX! I'm sure we will be back.

Helpful?
Thank StoneStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxLumankun, Owner at MAX Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your time for write this fantastic review and the (personal) compliments especially because it was a company dinner. You mentioned it right how important it is to have a well organised service/ staff when you're having a big group company dinner and thank you for mentioning that we were succeeding in doing this. Hope see you next time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing