We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MAX Amsterdam

MAX Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $54 - $65
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Open only for dinner, starting at 6pm. Adventurous food in a Cosmopolitan relaxed setting, located in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful canal area. MAX is a place to explore a new International cuisine with the additional flavours of MamaMax' traditional Indonesian home cooking. No nonsene good food, fresh and sparkling spiced. Forget the Michellin star's copies on your plate but enjoy simply our well cooked classics with a new creatieve touch. Guests minded and friendly service. MAX has a short uncomplicated interesting wine list, excellence wines for reasonable prices. Seperate open room for function up 20 persons. Mondays open on request for business groups.
München
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Not much to write besides: Best dinner in a long time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MiniGV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    416
    76
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
French Polynesia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had our last night dinner in Amsterdam at Max's. After 3 weeks in Amsterdam we have had our share of excellent meals. Max's did not dissapoint.

If you are coming for a quiet dinner try another spot as it is a noisy restraurant. Not a spot for a quiet romantic dinner. But with that said we still loved the place as the food was terrific.

I had the scallops starter. It was great and we both agreed was our favorite. i had the chicken in Max's speical sauce and my wife had the lamb. Both meals were really great.

We would eat here again next time we come to Amsterdam

Happy eating!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chouliha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent...excellent...excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent food, excellent ambiance ...chic and friendly. Menu was much more unique than other nearby restaurants. Staff helpful and Max cruised the room making sure everything was perfect - without being too "over attentive." Appetisers and main courses...excellent. And a nice surprise...so were the deserts. We told Max he should open a branch in NYC, USA...where we live - as there was just something special about every facet of the restaurant. Good wine selection, reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

right next to our B&B. I loved the aubergine. also the appetizers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kianinike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good eats in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went to Max recently with my wife and 2 children (ages 19 & 11). Service was pleasant and friendly without being pretentious. The appetizers were out of this world -- especially the Indonesian curry. Main courses were delicious, though the duck breast was a little tough. The sauce was lovely however. Steaks eaten by the kids were well-cooked and well-liked. My wife's sea bass was wonderfully prepared. We ordered two desserts to share among us and they too were great. Would definitely return if visiting Amsterdam again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kgilbert001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAX Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to MAX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing