We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #95 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gentofte
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Really good location as you can walk to most sites from here. Maybe a tram ride to the museums. Staff very helpful, hotel very clean, rooms a bit small but even though you are right in the centre noise was not an issue. Bar and breakfast were good, really nice old style decorations in the hotel. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlc61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    626
    306
    115
    88
See reviews for
180
723
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We choose this hotel for its location which was great. About a 10 minute walk from the station but also has a busy tram and bus route outside for helping to get about. Only across the road from dam square and near bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel is ideally located.

We arrived at 10am but understandably couldn't get to our room. They happily kept our bag for us and did the same on the last day so we could see the sites.

Our room was a little pokey and not much to it. However the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Is recommend bringing your own toiletries as while they are provided they as basic.

We booked breakfast at the hotel which was a huge disappointment. For 16 euro I expected more than a basic self service buffet. Food was not replaced when empty and the selection was not as good as other hotels I've stayed in on the continent. We passed bars with cheaper and more exciting breakfasts.

On the whole I wouldn't stay again but it wasn't bad. Just very average

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsclose85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this great hotel in Amsterdam. It is placed in the fully centre of the town: closed to the Central Station and in front of Dam Plaza. Even though its position is in the middle of Amsterdam life, the room was quite. Our room was wide, extremely cleaned and comfortable.
We warmly suggest Die Port van Cleve to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esc014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Located just behind Dam square so a great location! Very friendly staff . Room was clean and comfortable. Bed very comfortable! Even found English films on TV ! Will definitely visit Amsterdam again and stay at this hotel. Great city , lovely people!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott21529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Small and dated rooms but clean and comfortable. Good location close to Dam Square and tram service past the front door. Reasonable rates, friendly staff, a supermarket just up the road. We were more than happy with this hotel although the fridge didn't work.

Room Tip: Get an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We spent a total of nine days in Amsterdam and if I was to return I'd absolutely stay here again, the staff was beyond fantastic the conceige was a true credit to the Hotel.The hotel was right bang in the middle of the famous Damn square and any city information we needed the Hotel staff went out of their way to help us out.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fordfocus76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in this hotel and had a great stay ,you are right next too dam square and many attractions and tram service right outside we could here the trams at night but I personally loved this as it added to the ambiance the hotel is perfectly clean and has a beautiful lobby area ,I would defiantly recommend this hotel the price is great the beds are very comfortable

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaeldjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#114 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing