We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, a touch of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #94 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, a touch of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Die Port can Cleve is located just a block away from the central square and right next to a big mall. It is a walking distance away from the central railway station. At the same time you can find the most beautiful channels in the city only a heartbeat away.
The hotel it self is biggish, but you can still have the great feeling of tightness in corners and stairs. That feeling, combined with the channels, is the essence of Amsterdam, in my humble opinion. Don't worry: the elevator works fine as well!
Rooms are quite small, but that is what you can expect in this kind of center-located hotel. Breakfast table was more than plentiful and the service admirable. If you can find a room with a decent price, I warmly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View from inner yard -sided rooms isn't too mindblowing, but it's definitely quieter, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo_Kontio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    626
    308
    115
    88
See reviews for
180
724
67
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

After straightening out the staff issuing us the wrong room (paid for deluxe room, initally got a standard room) we enjoyed our stay immensely. Our room overlooked the street directly in front of the hotel. Location is superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

On arrival the hotel is situated in easy reach of Dam Square right by the Palace with easy reach of several attractions which we observed from a short tram ride from the station. The reception was very clean and smart looking with all the old photos and delft pottery and history of the hotel as it was the oldest brewery many years ago . The staff on reception spoke perfect English as do nearly all the staff ,the receptionist's were dressed impeccably, and was so polite and took time to help in any way with information to help us on several occasions. The room was fantastic with views of the palace and the main street ,the room had everything we needed from tea and coffee and water , comfortable bed and chair's ,plenty of space in the built in wardrobe ,free safe , flat screen TV . The bathroom was big with double shower built into the bath and was spotless the cleaners done a very good job ,The restaurant served continental breakfast and was very nice ,the catering staff , bar staff are really pleased to see you and take time to make sure everything is OK and will go out of there way to help ,Overall my stay was fantastic and we Will return to the hotel and have the large double upgrade as its well worth the price and you can have a smaller room with the same standard but on a smaller scale and price. Staying here made my trip to Amsterdam and I can't thank the staff enough for being so nice and help full.Thank You ,Rob and Rachel

Room Tip: Upgrade from a standard room to a large if staying a few days or more,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zetenberg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

6 nights at this Hotel - swift and pleasant check in, friendly and efficient. Baggage taken up to our room. Tram from Centraal Station stops right outside the Hotel entrance, so the location is fabulous and very central. Our bed was a problem, and no questions asked, we were moved to another room, and all our luggage was moved for us while we were out for the day - all done with a smile!! The concierge was most obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Perhaps the beds could be replaced and were a little tired! But would I stay again? Yes

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Awful. reading the other reviews it's like I stayed in a different hotel. My experience was: staff were rude at times and the rooms were definitely not what I'd expected from a 4 star hotel. I'd give it a 3 at best. Great location is the only positive I can give this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v1kk174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Good central location. The hotel rooms are tired and needs refurbishment to match its price. I did pre pay fir breakfast and they still wanted proof and copies of my booking to sort it. The nearby area is busy. My Tv set was dusty and unplugged.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalleviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel! Great staff who were very welcoming and polite. The hotel is in a brilliant location with dam square across the road and Anne Franks and central station within a 10 minutes walk. We was upgraded to an executive suite as it was my boyfriends birthday during our stay in Amsterdam, which was very much appreciated - we loved it!! The room was lovely and spacious, it even had a whirlpool bath! If we ever visit Amsterdam again, this is the hotel to stay at!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#119 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing