We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #98 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

6 nights at this Hotel - swift and pleasant check in, friendly and efficient. Baggage taken up to our room. Tram from Centraal Station stops right outside the Hotel entrance, so the location is fabulous and very central. Our bed was a problem, and no questions asked, we were moved to another room, and all our luggage was moved for us while we were out for the day - all done with a smile!! The concierge was most obliging and nothing was too much trouble. Perhaps the beds could be replaced and were a little tired! But would I stay again? Yes

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    730
    338
    130
    96
See reviews for
216
879
76
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Awful. reading the other reviews it's like I stayed in a different hotel. My experience was: staff were rude at times and the rooms were definitely not what I'd expected from a 4 star hotel. I'd give it a 3 at best. Great location is the only positive I can give this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v1kk174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Good central location. The hotel rooms are tired and needs refurbishment to match its price. I did pre pay fir breakfast and they still wanted proof and copies of my booking to sort it. The nearby area is busy. My Tv set was dusty and unplugged.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kalleviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel! Great staff who were very welcoming and polite. The hotel is in a brilliant location with dam square across the road and Anne Franks and central station within a 10 minutes walk. We was upgraded to an executive suite as it was my boyfriends birthday during our stay in Amsterdam, which was very much appreciated - we loved it!! The room was lovely and spacious, it even had a whirlpool bath! If we ever visit Amsterdam again, this is the hotel to stay at!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Perfect. Me and my boyfriend stayed 21st December to 24th December. All staff were extremely polite, helped with directions, gave us a tour of the hotel and it's history. Spotless room with an amazing view. Quiet and peaceful and loads of lovely little added extras. Miss the place, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

What a neat place this was!
Loved our room. We could sit every morning and look out of the window and have our breakfast.
Loved the Delft theme of the room.
Was delightful to relax in the deep bath every night too.
Very central to everything.
Staff were fabulous, always helpful, and I had the Rookwurst and Sauerkraut meal there too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel so welcome, and went that extra mile to ensure our stay was terrific. Jose (receptionist) and Karim (concierge) should be mentioned as they satisfied every question we had. The cleanliness the hotel was excellent and our room was completed each day to a high standard, and there was not an area I felt could be bettered.
The Royal Palace and Dam Square are within 100 yards of the hotel, and with the holiday celebrations in full swing we had a ball, so much so, that it definitely is one that I will recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The trip was to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we made sure that the hotel knew it was, so p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 367 in Amsterdam
576 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing