We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break..”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #93 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Booked the hotel online, excellent location for everything in Amsterdam. Reception staff are really helpful, especially Laura... Breakfast at €22 a bit pricy but was very good. We had room 109 which was quiet at night. Would recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,890)
There are newer reviews for Die Port van Cleve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, in the very centre, you can easily find everything. From the outside, hotel looks much better than inside. Rooms are so so, but clean and well maintained .
I would recommend it anyhow.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Masa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Only stayed one night, but reception very friendly, hotel attractive, interesting, clean, traditional touches. Location perfect, central for most things.

Best Waffles for breakfast with Cherries ever!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R_LA_Barn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is absolutely Perfect!
Being avid Amsterdam fans we have stayed in many hotel but this one we can't recommend enough.
Perfect location, situated next to the Plaza and cross the road and your in The Dam. Great prices and comfy, clean rooms. This hotel has the perfect location for it all!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hollie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was fantastic -- we'll always chose to stay here when in Amsterdam. The location was perfect: easy walk from Centraal Station, easy walk into the Jordaan and all the other neighborhoods we like, and it was always super easy to find our way back because it's right behind Dam Square and the Palace and Nieuwe Kerk. Staff was lovely and the rooms were larger than I'd expected, with big bathrooms, safes and small fridges. Also, the breakfast was FABULOUS. Definitely eat there -- it's fresh, delicious with so many choices everyone in your party will be happy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my family over the recent Christmas break, and here are my impressions:

Front of house staff (reception, concierge): Excellent! Very friendly and helpful. When we arrived at 9 in the morning, they arranged to get us a room right away because they knew our daughter would need a nap. When our daughter became ill during our stay, they brought her tea and crackers and arranged a taxi when we decided she needed medical attention. As we do not speak Dutch, their help with this was greatly appreciated.

The Room: A bit dark and in need of some newer furniture. Our room was large for a city center European hotel, as was our bathroom. We could see the Nieuwe Kerk from our window, which was nice. However, the room was very dark. We could not get enough light in our room, except by the bed with the use of the bedside reading light. The carpets and the furniture were dark in color and seemed a little old, which added to the dark feeling. Our room was also located right next to the smoking porch, so every time someone lit up it smelled as if they were actually smoking in our room. We did tell the from desk about this, but as our only option was to move rooms, we decided to stay and deal with it since both my daughter and I were ill with a stomach virus at this point and in no mood to re-pack.

Housekeeping: Not very good. During the majority of our stay our room was not cleaned even by late afternoon or evening. We would go out for the day and return to a room that had not been services. We had to ask for our room to be serviced while we were at dinner. One day, we just gave up on getting our room cleaned and asked for clean bath linens and for the housekeeper to take our trash. Housekeepers were friendly enough, and staff was apologetic, but I expected a little higher level of service.

Location: Excellent. We were right on Dam Square. It was walking distance to the Oude Kerk, Nieuwe Kerk, red-light district (if you are into that), several other museums, and many restaurants. It was less than a half hour to walk to the major art museums (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, etc).

Breakfast was also good. It is worth paying for if it is not included with your stay. There was a large selection of both hot and cold items, and plenty of typically Dutch foods that you don't see at just any hotel breakfast. We also had a pleasant experience in the little bar across from the restaurant. If you like jenever, or want to try it, this seems like a good place to go.

I would stay here again because most of the service was so good and the location can't be beat. Rates were also quite reasonable, but I would be willing to pay even more if a little refurbishment were undertaken and if housekeeping standards were improved.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here last week for four nights.
Simple, good value hotel, easily reached from the Central Station.
Quiet, clean and ideally placed for walking the city streets and visiting museums.
Good advice on restaurants.
Breakfasts fine.
Good value and recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockhound3690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#70 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $172 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing