We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #94 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amsterdam stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The service at the front desk was excellent. The location was admirable, right behind the Royal Palace. The bedroom (Room 125) was spacious and daily cleaning was first class. Despite facing a busy street the room was quiet because of effective double glazing.
Breakfast was most satisfactory. Nearby, 200 yards to the right on exiting the hotel, was a well stocked supermarket.
Would be happy to return.
PS For an expensive fishy meal try Lucius. Easily reached on foot.
Ignore my swimming pool and fitness centre ratings below. Another slip of the thumb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    616
    301
    114
    88
See reviews for
174
711
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location right near Dam square only a short walk to Anne Frank house and red light district. We arrived at like 11am and were allowed to check in right away, then only €15 for late check out. Huge room and bathroom, comfy beds, nice staff. Will definitely stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Travellove414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osijek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is just behind the Royal Palace and next to shopping center. Old charming hotel on perfect location. Restoran is very nice but food is average. Service is good but cleanliness is on vary low lavel. In my friends room heating didnt work..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Another stunning hotel in a great location. Right on Dam Square. This is one of the more expensive hotels, but worth the money. Always use this hotel when traveling to Amsterdam with my girlfriend.

Just behind the Royal Palace and right next to a great shopping centre Magna Carter.

Great service and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have been remiss in not reviewing this hotel sooner, and I am very unhappy that I cannot name names of the staff who went the extra mile - actually, many extra miles! I had them written down and have not been able to find that critical piece of paper. The hotel itself was charming. There just were no negatives. I would go back again in a heartbeat. But . . . here's what I have to say about staff. Arrived in Amsterdam via rail from Zurich/Frankfurt. Traveled in a first class car with reservations. Large luggage was in back of the car and carry on was in the rack above us. Long story short, even though we never left our seats, somehow someone made off with my carry on bag which contained gifts from Murano, Burano and Rome (including receipts), electronics for my Mac, my new I Phone, and most awful, personal jewelry which was very precious to me. When I went crying to the conductor, he just shrugged. I guess this is a common occurrence. I was distraught and crying when I got to the hotel. A wonderful person, after checking us in, immediately filed a L & F report with the railroad. She came up to our room and obtained an itemized list and then refiled a detailed report (which is helping me with my insurance claim). She also found all the electronics I needed to enable me to use my computer. Throughout our visit, people went out of their way, in every way. BTW, the breakfast was absolutely outstanding, and once again, the staff was also. We witnessed two very unpleasant persons who were quite unreasonable with the dining room and kitchen staff; they were never anything but cordial, accommodating, and patient with them which their behavior didn't warrant. Kudos to all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcareypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Room on 5th floor. Stairways are steep and narrow steps by American standards so less agile folks may want to use elevator. Rooms typical small size in Europe but clean. Nothing to view outside windows. Air conditioning really needed during this hot & muggy weather and it worked in our room but not in our companions' room. Its not too far from Central station but we took tram as we were pulling luggage, and tram for Dam Square area stops right in front of hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available in dining room but is extra charge. Bar on site and this is worth visiting for the story about Heinken beer and the delft tiles which are the motif of this hotel.

Room Tip: If weather is hot, be sure air conditioning is working before accepting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful for local information, nothing too much trouble. Room was clean, bit uninspiring, try and get one that faces street, the one we had had no view)and bathroom OK. Breakfast was good.The location is perfect either to walk from or catch tram just outside front door.

Room Tip: Try and get a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing