We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient and friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Die Port van Cleve to your Saves list
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Convenient and friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Room on 5th floor. Stairways are steep and narrow steps by American standards so less agile folks may want to use elevator. Rooms typical small size in Europe but clean. Nothing to view outside windows. Air conditioning really needed during this hot & muggy weather and it worked in our room but not in our companions' room. Its not too far from Central station but we took tram as we were pulling luggage, and tram for Dam Square area stops right in front of hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available in dining room but is extra charge. Bar on site and this is worth visiting for the story about Heinken beer and the delft tiles which are the motif of this hotel.

Room Tip: If weather is hot, be sure air conditioning is working before accepting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    613
    300
    114
    88
See reviews for
173
709
64
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eastbourne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed two nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful for local information, nothing too much trouble. Room was clean, bit uninspiring, try and get one that faces street, the one we had had no view)and bathroom OK. Breakfast was good.The location is perfect either to walk from or catch tram just outside front door.

Room Tip: Try and get a street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I love character properties and this hotel certainly provided it. The location is very convenient to Centraal station and the tram stopped immediately outside the door. the directions provided on the website to the hotel were perfect. The staff were very friendly. Be aware however that the rooms are very small, but we are familiar with the European room sizes, and we found the bed a little uncomfortable

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueb1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here in September for three nights , room was like a studio apartment with all the mod cons. We stayed in room 118 which is located at the back of the hotel yards from the fire escape which i was able to nip out for a quick smoke without all the drama of going thru the hotel and climbing stairs etc. Food was great ( try the famous steaks) and staff are more than willing to help with directions ,maps and anything else they can. Trams can be got outside the hotel but to be honest a 5-10 minute walk and your in the middle of all the action. All in all had a great stay here and would not hesitate to go back, in fact im planning a week next time .....
money well spent, Viva le dam :)

Room Tip: room 118......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macthehat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location is hard to beat if being close to attractions, restaurants and nightlife matters. The building boasts a beerhouse history (and before that; a brewery) still got a very decent pub. Friendly staff. Beds were not fantastic and floor carpets are not to our liking. Cool and cosy Jordaan close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Per Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very nice "boutique" type hotel located just one block from the Dam. You can walk here from the train station, or take a tram.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very helpful when asked for recommendations.
The breakfast buffet was also very good.
Only complaint was the air conditioning in our room did not work, and Amsterdam was suffering a heat wave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night trip to Amsterdam and stayed at Die Port van Cleve.
The location is superb - a 10 minute walk from central station, or hop on a tram (no.s 2 or 5, get off at Dam Square). If you are fit you can walk to almost every tourist site in the city from here, but if you don't fancy walking, there is a tram stop on the doorstep.
From outside the building is very impressive, but first impressions as you approach reception are not quite so good, the reception area is small, dark and a bit haphazard, however the friendly and efficient staff make up for that.
Our room was on the third floor at the front overlooking Dam square, but we didn't experience any noise at all. The room was not that large, but it was clean, with lots of character and had all the amenities you would expect, although the bathrooms were a bit basic for a 4*.
The beds were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
Downstairs, there is a fairly standard-looking hotel restaurant, and a very old bar.
The bar is the stand out feature for this hotel in my opinion. It oozes character from the original wood panelling and the Delft tile frieze (which is the the hotel trademark, and repeated in the lifts and the rooms). The menu is the same in the restaurant and the bar, so try to get a table there. The hotel is famous with locals for their steaks (each steak is numbered), and with good reason - one of the best I have ever tasted, but not cheap. If you have an 'IAmsterdam' card, they offer a special menu which is a much better price and still excellent.
In my opinion, any rating for this hotel has to be based on the value for the price paid. We paid less than €100 per night for the room, and we considered it excellent value for money. Some reviewers claim to have paid €240 per night, and are obviously not as happy.
We would certainly return to this hotel when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,268 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#96 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing