We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location is hard to beat if being close to attractions, restaurants and nightlife matters. The building boasts a beerhouse history (and before that; a brewery) still got a very decent pub. Friendly staff. Beds were not fantastic and floor carpets are not to our liking. Cool and cosy Jordaan close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Per Gunnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    616
    301
    114
    88
See reviews for
174
711
65
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is a very nice "boutique" type hotel located just one block from the Dam. You can walk here from the train station, or take a tram.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very helpful when asked for recommendations.
The breakfast buffet was also very good.
Only complaint was the air conditioning in our room did not work, and Amsterdam was suffering a heat wave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night trip to Amsterdam and stayed at Die Port van Cleve.
The location is superb - a 10 minute walk from central station, or hop on a tram (no.s 2 or 5, get off at Dam Square). If you are fit you can walk to almost every tourist site in the city from here, but if you don't fancy walking, there is a tram stop on the doorstep.
From outside the building is very impressive, but first impressions as you approach reception are not quite so good, the reception area is small, dark and a bit haphazard, however the friendly and efficient staff make up for that.
Our room was on the third floor at the front overlooking Dam square, but we didn't experience any noise at all. The room was not that large, but it was clean, with lots of character and had all the amenities you would expect, although the bathrooms were a bit basic for a 4*.
The beds were some of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
Downstairs, there is a fairly standard-looking hotel restaurant, and a very old bar.
The bar is the stand out feature for this hotel in my opinion. It oozes character from the original wood panelling and the Delft tile frieze (which is the the hotel trademark, and repeated in the lifts and the rooms). The menu is the same in the restaurant and the bar, so try to get a table there. The hotel is famous with locals for their steaks (each steak is numbered), and with good reason - one of the best I have ever tasted, but not cheap. If you have an 'IAmsterdam' card, they offer a special menu which is a much better price and still excellent.
In my opinion, any rating for this hotel has to be based on the value for the price paid. We paid less than €100 per night for the room, and we considered it excellent value for money. Some reviewers claim to have paid €240 per night, and are obviously not as happy.
We would certainly return to this hotel when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great hotel, a bit pricey but central and clean with very helpful staff. Just keep an eye on your credit card transactions city tax was taken when i first arrived and then the receptionist asked for my card when i was checking out , i asked what did she want it for twice as i had already paid my city tax. As i was in a hurry to catch my flight i left without really been told what the second payment was for. When i got home i checked to find they had requested a 40 or 50 euro payment which was pending . I called the hotel and asked again what this was for and was told they had withdrew their request for that payment , so i take it it was for a deposit untill they found the room had not been damaged or smoked in ,,,,but all was good and the confusion was cleared up ... all in all a great stay an would recommend it to all :)

Room Tip: room 18 has a fire exit beside it ,,, handy for nipping out for a smoke and getting to the street wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patsy669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The bedding quality in this hotel will make you sleep like a baby. I noticed that the locals use the restaurant in this hotel, and you know if the locals use a hotel, it should be good. Sure enough, the breakfast food quality was top notch. The front desk personnel were very helpful and courteous. The rooms are relatively large, and the quality of the furbishments throughout was excellent, down to details of non slip ceramic flooring in the bath. The hotel looks like a landmark building. Location is central and a few feet from a tram stop. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the central station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, but if you can't get a room in Ansterdam, don't accept this. Book iut if town and travel in. For EUR240 it was really sub-par. Don't worry, if you have to stay here the staff were fine and the rooms clean. But quite worn and very noisy on the street. Ask for a room away from the street if you can (or get a white noise app on your phone).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com secret deals for an excellent price which was lesser than a 3* hotel. The room had a fixed window but overlooked Dam Square. It was summer but the AC was superb and felt as if it was winter ! I was very pleased with the way they had made up the bed & cushions.
The tram stop in just infornt of the entrance and railway station is 20 mins on foot. Plenty of restaurants, and stores around.
It has a lovely blue decor.the hotel offers a secure left luggage free of cost.rooms were as you will find in a 4*.was provided tea-coffee facilities in room which was a bonus.room also had a mini fridge.location -right behind Dam Square, royal palace. High standard free toiletries provided.
Highly recommended , dont miss staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Dam Square, there might be some traffic noise but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing