We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cose to all the action”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #89 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great hotel, a bit pricey but central and clean with very helpful staff. Just keep an eye on your credit card transactions city tax was taken when i first arrived and then the receptionist asked for my card when i was checking out , i asked what did she want it for twice as i had already paid my city tax. As i was in a hurry to catch my flight i left without really been told what the second payment was for. When i got home i checked to find they had requested a 40 or 50 euro payment which was pending . I called the hotel and asked again what this was for and was told they had withdrew their request for that payment , so i take it it was for a deposit untill they found the room had not been damaged or smoked in ,,,,but all was good and the confusion was cleared up ... all in all a great stay an would recommend it to all :)

Room Tip: room 18 has a fire exit beside it ,,, handy for nipping out for a smoke and getting to the street wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patsy669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The bedding quality in this hotel will make you sleep like a baby. I noticed that the locals use the restaurant in this hotel, and you know if the locals use a hotel, it should be good. Sure enough, the breakfast food quality was top notch. The front desk personnel were very helpful and courteous. The rooms are relatively large, and the quality of the furbishments throughout was excellent, down to details of non slip ceramic flooring in the bath. The hotel looks like a landmark building. Location is central and a few feet from a tram stop. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the central station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, but if you can't get a room in Ansterdam, don't accept this. Book iut if town and travel in. For EUR240 it was really sub-par. Don't worry, if you have to stay here the staff were fine and the rooms clean. But quite worn and very noisy on the street. Ask for a room away from the street if you can (or get a white noise app on your phone).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com secret deals for an excellent price which was lesser than a 3* hotel. The room had a fixed window but overlooked Dam Square. It was summer but the AC was superb and felt as if it was winter ! I was very pleased with the way they had made up the bed & cushions.
The tram stop in just infornt of the entrance and railway station is 20 mins on foot. Plenty of restaurants, and stores around.
It has a lovely blue decor.the hotel offers a secure left luggage free of cost.rooms were as you will find in a 4*.was provided tea-coffee facilities in room which was a bonus.room also had a mini fridge.location -right behind Dam Square, royal palace. High standard free toiletries provided.
Highly recommended , dont miss staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Dam Square, there might be some traffic noise but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saurabh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly hotel. Restaurant a bit pricey. Easy reach of everything. Clean rooms
, we were at the back and it was very quiet.
Would definitely recommend it. We had half board and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu2nlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow, you cannot beat the location of this hotel! You can walk everywhere! I was a little disappointed with the size of my room (Even by European standards), but I guess you don't spend that much time there anyways, and it was immaculately clean, so definitely fine by me! The breakfast in the morning was a little pricey, but it was convenient on our way to the train station. Overall, everything was decent, the location makes this hotel a great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelalirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here March this year for a 2 night stay. Location is fantastic right behind Dam square and an easy walk to the Anne Frank House. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby. Hotel was adequate for a short stay had everything we needed but to be honest the location was more important to us because how much time do you really spend in your room! Room was spacious enough for 2 people, very clean. When we first arrived our room wasn't ready so we went out for a bit as she told us a couple of hours but we went back early as i didn't feel very well and they got a room ready no problem. Reception staff were very helpful even drew us a map when we needed directions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 374 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#92 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $144 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing