We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent 4* service, location and decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #97 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent 4* service, location and decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I booked this hotel through booking.com secret deals for an excellent price which was lesser than a 3* hotel. The room had a fixed window but overlooked Dam Square. It was summer but the AC was superb and felt as if it was winter ! I was very pleased with the way they had made up the bed & cushions.
The tram stop in just infornt of the entrance and railway station is 20 mins on foot. Plenty of restaurants, and stores around.
It has a lovely blue decor.the hotel offers a secure left luggage free of cost.rooms were as you will find in a 4*.was provided tea-coffee facilities in room which was a bonus.room also had a mini fridge.location -right behind Dam Square, royal palace. High standard free toiletries provided.
Highly recommended , dont miss staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Dam Square, there might be some traffic noise but you will enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    700
    327
    124
    91
See reviews for
204
821
74
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Friendly hotel. Restaurant a bit pricey. Easy reach of everything. Clean rooms
, we were at the back and it was very quiet.
Would definitely recommend it. We had half board and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu2nlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow, you cannot beat the location of this hotel! You can walk everywhere! I was a little disappointed with the size of my room (Even by European standards), but I guess you don't spend that much time there anyways, and it was immaculately clean, so definitely fine by me! The breakfast in the morning was a little pricey, but it was convenient on our way to the train station. Overall, everything was decent, the location makes this hotel a great choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here March this year for a 2 night stay. Location is fantastic right behind Dam square and an easy walk to the Anne Frank House. Plenty of decent restaurants nearby. Hotel was adequate for a short stay had everything we needed but to be honest the location was more important to us because how much time do you really spend in your room! Room was spacious enough for 2 people, very clean. When we first arrived our room wasn't ready so we went out for a bit as she told us a couple of hours but we went back early as i didn't feel very well and they got a room ready no problem. Reception staff were very helpful even drew us a map when we needed directions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Decent hotel for a decent price. Within walking distance of the railway station and other surrounding attractions. Overall, we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed for few nights. Bicycle rental was across the street, nearby coffee/cafes. Beautiful city, the canal tour was probably the best. Took the train to the country side where the wind mills are. Beautiful and windy scenery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geeva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for a short break in Amsterdam. We had a room right on the front of the hotel, looking out across the main street, but with very effective secondary glazing on the window there was no problem at all with noise. The room was more than adequate for our needs - after all, on a short break, how much time are you going to spend in it? - !!!! Only possible downside, if the weather had been very hot the room may have been too warm - the window does not open. There is air conditioning though, but we did not need it so cannot comment on its effectiveness. We did not eat at the hotel either so cannot comment on the food. But with a tram stop right outside the door it is easy to get to from Central Station and easy to be on your way sigh-seeing in the morning. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrier_man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Brought a friend, unexpectedly small room. If it was once a brewery, why not preserve its history rather then simply turn it into a hotel. However it was a great location, clean, nice pub down stares, able to walk to every attraction. I would utilize the same hotel again provided I went there alone.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleep63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing