We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #100 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was not impressed with my stay at this hotel.
As I searched for hotels before my trip, my main concern was to stay somewhere where I had my own private bathroom. (side note: hotel availability was very limited during the time I was going to be in Amsterdam for some reason, a lot of hotels were fully booked, and those that weren't were very pricey).
The room I had did have its own private bathroom, but it was definitely outdated. It felt like I was staying in the attic of a house. It had really low angled ceilings with tiny windows. The room also seemed really outdated, and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable.
There was an unpleasant smell in the hallway outside the room.
The location of the hotel was good: there was a lot in walking distance and I didn't feel unsafe.
The staff wasn't overly friendly, but they were pleasant enough.

I would look for other hotels if I returned to Amsterdam, but would stay here for a night or two if I needed to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Die Port van Cleve, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Melissa R,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review about your stay in September 2012.
We are happy to inform you that we have been renovating and updating different parts of the hotel since you have visited our hotel. We have installed air-conditioning throughout the hotel, we have refurbished the lobby and all our hotel rooms are updated with new decoration. We have also replaced a large amount of hotel beds, including the bed in your room. In January 2013 we have stared with the replacements of the bathrooms as well.
We hope we can welcome you again in Hotel Die Port van Cleve and you feel more impressed with your stay in our updated hotel rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    708
    329
    126
    93
See reviews for
205
839
74
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My boyfreind and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. The first thing to highlight is the location of this hotel. it is a 2 minute walk from Dam Square and at the other end of the street is Central station - probably a 10 minute walk. We took a taxi from the airport which was 60 Euro, so if I stay at the hotel again, I would probably just get the train and walk to the hotel from there. There is a shopping center right next to the hotel, and also a super market.
The hotel it's self is quite old fashioned and traditional looking. They charge a 15 Euro city tax. Breakfast is avalible and I think it costs between 14-19 Euro per day. We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't coment on the standard of food. The staff were very helpful and efficient.
The room was a little on the small side, but was clean, and the housekeeping serivce attended to the room on a daily basis. There was a TV in the room, but only 3 english channel's were avalilbe BBC1, BBC2 and BBC world news. The bathroom was a good size, but very cold. The bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch. There were tea and coffee making facilites in the room, but no fridge or mini bar.
The only other down side to the hotel was that there is only 1 lift, which is quite small and slow.
I would recomend this hotel, for couples, families and lone travellers. I would not recomend this hotel for large groups such as stag or hen parties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morag24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

An excellent hotel, even if it was undergoing refurbishments on the outside. The room was very comfortable and adjusting the temperature was simple. The bar and restaurant could hardly be faulted and the staff were extemely efficient and helpful. When I am next in Amsterdam, this hotel will definitely be booked if available.

Room Tip: Some rooms have different levels and intrenal stairs, my mother (aged 86) was automatically put in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DSRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I came here as a child whilst on holiday in Amsterdam with my family.

It has since then been my favourite hotel ever.

I remember it being very comfortable, very central and my favourite part of it was the AMAZING breakfast the hotel provided. I remember as a child it felt like mountains of EVERYTHING you could possibly want to eat and more.

Although this was 7 years ago now, I would love to go back again! And I recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Amsterdam that is very central and very nice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepismyfave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at this lovely hotel on 16th February 2013 for 3 nights.
We were very very impressed with the hotel itself. Really efficient, helpful and friendly staff checked us in earlier than we expected. We arrived around 11am and room was ready so in we went - 3 hours early!
The rooms were perfect! Ample storage, great powerful shower in bathroom and always hot water. Free deposit box in room. Tea and coffee facilities, television, and telephone.
Rooms were always spotless - maid did a fantastic job and each evening it was as if we'd arrived for the first time - fresh towels, everything used was replaced, i.e. soap etc.
We didn't get round to eating at the restaurant, but the bar was our meeting place and again, very friendly and efficient staff.
Location was the best in Amsterdam!! 2 mins walk from Dam Square - how central do you want to be? We didn't use one cab, tram or bicycle all weekend as we walked everywhere.
Also, if you arrive at Central Station, it's around 10 mins walk.
We are definately coming back next year and suggest you do too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nancymmKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portadown
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day city break in Amsterdam staying at the Die Port Van Cleve, The reception staff were 1st class and extremely helpful at all times (offering advice on where to get the best tourist deals) as were the dining room and housekeeping staff we could find no fault with anyone. The food was good and plentiful, the location excellent within easy walking distance of a lot of the city sights and quiet at night .The bathroom was well stocked at all times as was the tea and coffee in our room, a bit more heat in the room would not have went amiss as it was as low as -3 at times outside and the windows were not double glazed. A little less music with breakfast should be considered We would not look any further for accommodation if we were to return to this lovely city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabeth o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms could do with a bit of updating, especially the bathrooms. Low quality fittings, cracked tiles and creaky floors.

The hotel is in a great location though; just a 2 min walk to the main square and a 10 min walk from the train station.

I wouldn't stay here again, for the money I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superhans0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#113 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 -180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing