We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not 4 star”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #88 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms could do with a bit of updating, especially the bathrooms. Low quality fittings, cracked tiles and creaky floors.

The hotel is in a great location though; just a 2 min walk to the main square and a 10 min walk from the train station.

I wouldn't stay here again, for the money I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superhans0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Four of us went to Amsterdam over New Years for 5 days - and staying at Die Port van Cleve made our New Years even better. Nothing can beat the value for money in relation to the location. Located opposite Die Nieuwe Kerk, it is literally in front of a tram stop that takes you to places such as Museam Square and byond. 1 minute walk to Dam Square, 1 min walk to the best pub in Amsterdam called Cafe Van Zuylen and 2 minutes to Ann Franks House beyond that.

The room we stayed in was spacious if a bit quirky. Never ate in as the whole of Amsterdam offers so much!

Cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeLLWare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently visited this hotel with my husband. Firstly it is a brilliant location located right by the dam square tram stop. very handy for getting around amsterdam and easy to find. the hotel itself looks nice from outside and we checked in easy. The room was big but not very warm. There is only 1 radiator for the whole room and no heater at all in the bathroom. the radiator was also off when we arrived. the water in the shower goes from boling to cold without touching the tap and the "hair dryer" in the room is not good - if you have any way longish hair - take your own! It is also quiet noisey outside as the windows are not at all soundproof so you can hear the traffic and ppl and workmen outside! we didnt eat or drink in the hotel so cannot comment on that. Overall the best thing about this hotel is the great location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pinkgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent again all round, too the people who leave the negatives- it's amsterdam if your looking for luxury 5* then go pay €4-700 per night somewhere else! If you want simple and clean and good prices then this is for you and the location is excellent!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location is excellent, it was right behind the palace. nice little resturant on the side of buiding open late *note eat the donner kabob. my room had a jacuzzi tub shower thing which was quiet large.... really fun for a single guy in amsterdam. i only stayed in one room, it was on the top floor. my view was a quiet street which i didnt mind, because next to my room was a small stair way which lead to this quiet street. i could only exit this way but it was a nice private exit...
tram stop in frront and everything was in walkng distance

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here on business for ten days recently and in terms of location you'd be hard pressed to beat it
Right off dam square and close to tram stops its easily walk able to anything you want to get to and only ten min walk from central station itself
The hotel boasts being situated on the site of a former Heineken brewery so is very interesting to stay in
The breakfast is good if not a little expensive for what's on offer at 19€ and the bar next door good for a beer at the end of a days work
Rooms are some what dated and I found the standard of room service could be a little better in terms of cleaning
I'm not a messy person but coffee cups are seldom removed, bathroom items go unreplaced once run out, that sort of thing. Not major just annoying as that's all the maids job is. Beds get made though and sheets are clean
I found the needs to be old and imploding on them selves but my colleagues had better and worse
In general a pleasant place to stay, perfect location- just a little dated

Top tips
Tell them you're having breakfast for your entire stay as you'll get a cheaper rate than paying daily
Our the front door, left and first street left is an excellent kebab shop- open until three am. And I don't mean one of those shocking UK places this food is all good
Take the stairs unless you like slow lifts
Reception can help you with pretty well anything. We found them very helpful
Don't expect much from the in house internet.it's shockingly bad

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harpersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights and found the location of the hotel and service by the staff at reception to be quite good. As other reviewers have noted the exterior of the hotel is quite impressive, along with the restaurant and lobby area downstairs. Unfortunately, there were a number of negatives that we encountered in our stay. The bed was quite old and sunken in the middle which caused some discomfort when we were able to sleep. I say 'when' as our room was located near the internal stairs. Whenever anyone uses these stairs, every step they take is echoed through the room. Although there is a lift, many people on the first couple of floors probably opt to take the stairs. This is extremely noisy and frustrating as it continues throughout the night.
I would suggest that people try and avoid the room we had (i think it was 130) if you want to get a good night sleep. My only suggestion to the hotel would be to invest in some new beds..

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view and don't stay on the first floor near the stairs (130 I think).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blair_n_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 374 in Amsterdam
712 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,244 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#93 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,093 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $143 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing