We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant base with friendly staff”
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #87 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location is incredible, right by Dam Square. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Room was lovely and we got an upgrade as we were cheeky and asked before arrival :)
Didn't eat here as there were so many options close by. Comfy bed, nice views. Whirlpool bath didn't work the first night which was a shame, but they got someone out to fix it the next day, and then it was a proper luxury. Will definately sane up to treat ourselves here again, was a fantastic shirt holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from january 22nd 2013, the hotel was really clean, the rooms were a bit small but good enough.The hotel is in an ideal location for all the attractions,a few seconds from Dam square. My only bad point is the hotel bar,why do they have to charge so much, 15 euros for a pint and a bacardi and coke. The bar was empty and now i know why,also there is a lovely pub in the square called Europub but beware 7 pints cost us 56 euros,its best to venture out a litle bit for better value. I would also recommend a canal boat trip it was really good and worth the money. Anyway all in all a fantastic trip and will be going back again and stay inthe same hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pewak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for the third time and can say it is a fine hotel in a great location. The breakfast is not too bad but i would suggest skipping this and eating outside the hotel as it would be cheaper. The room was fine and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalouisemonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Die Port van Cleve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear emmalouisemonaghan,

Thank you for writing a review again. We are happy you have enjoyed your third stay in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you for the fourth and next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Could not fault this hotel at all, very clean, we had a twin room which was big enough, plenty of choice for breakfast, friendly helpful staff, excellent central location right near dam square, would highly recommend to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Die Port van Cleve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Joanne R,

Thank you for your nice review, we are glad that you have enjoyed our service and facilities. We look forward welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

my friend and i stayed there 4days,and couldnt have got a better place,the room was clean,very warm,the water was the hottest you could want,and the staff very friendly,also no noise from other guests,or maintainance people,i would return there anytime,and it was spot on for all the attractions,a few minutes walk,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliejustjulie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to Amsterdam for my 50th birthday and stayed one night. We wish we could have stayed longer!
We arrived at 8.45 in the morning and asked if we could leave our bags before going out to look around. We were allowed to check in that early, which was very welcome. We had a good initial room but found that the toilet didn't flush.this wasn't a problem as we were going out so just repeated it to the front desk. When we got back a couple of hours later,(to unload the first shop!) there was a letter that we were to move rooms. This was done with little fuss and we got another great room where the toilet did work.......all sorted.

The two big things for us on this trip were that a) the hotel is so central. You can get to most places very easily and as with my wife and daughter, and unload your many shopping trips! b) the staff are the best of any hotel we have stayed at in Amsterdam. Nothing was too much trouble, you could have a laugh and a joke and they interacted with my daughter.

We had room 412 that looked into an inner courtyard but was so quiet. It is an older style hotel but they are refurbishing at the moment. We will be going back there when we next visit

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2011roobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Die Port van Cleve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear 2011roobarb,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. When we have clean rooms available before the regular 2 p.m. check in time, we are always happy to check you in earlier. We are looking forward to welcome you, your wife and your daughter again in Hotel Die Port van Cleve when you are planning your next trip to Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is so central you can walk to quite a few attractions including shops and your right in the city centre. This hotel is located just to the rear of the royal palace Dam Square. The rooms at the front have a great view of life and goings on in the central area. The hotel is clean and tidy, staff very friendly and rooms have both heat and air con to suit the time of year you visit. Each of these is controlled by guests in the room. I walked from the central station to hotel short walk 10-15 minutes so need to get a taxi just use the train from airport to central station walk out the door and follow signs for dam square, face palace and walk up the right hand side towards back of palace and hotel is facing you.

Room Tip: Front rooms have better views of the tourist areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eileen00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina R, Guest Relations Manager at Die Port van Cleve, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Eileen00001,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Your brief explanation to walk from central station to the hotel is very clear.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 373 in Amsterdam
723 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#90 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,118 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $133 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing