We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“would definitely recommend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Die Port van Cleve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Die Port van Cleve
Ranked #90 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would definitely recommend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

me and my boyfriend stayed here in july. concierge were friendly and helpful and told us on checking in that we had been given one of the large rooms with a hot tub bath! the room was large and the room and bed etc were comfortable and clean. concierge were also helpful when we needed milk for tea and gave us jugs and also ice for our drinks to take up to our room. good value for a hotel so close the centre (dam square). big albert hein supermarket right next door and on the ground floor the hotel had a separate bar and restaurant although we never actually ate or drank in either. near to all your necessities including coffee shops! we would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    671
    318
    118
    88
See reviews for
194
776
70
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just got back from staying at this hotel for four nights.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to see as many sites as possible as most are in walking distance.
We liked the hotel for being so close to many attractions, and for being clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful and the leaflet selection at the entrance was very useful - thanks to these we went on a memeorable trip to a Diamond Museum! We also liked the historical theme to the hotel with original artwork.
We never ate in the hotel because we found breakfast was a little overpriced, and found a good cafe down the road to eat at instead.
There was some noise outside that lasted into the early hours which could possibly be solved with double glazing, however Amsterdam is a bustling city so people should expect the lively nightlife-it certaintly didn't spoil the stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyandVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I could agree with other reviews suggesting 4 stars generous but I find the same with many European hotels. Small rooms, slowest elevator in the world - that's the negatives. Good location for sights, lovely building on the outside, friendly staff. Didn't eat there so can't comment on the food. Would recommend - had an offer from a 'group' website so made a saving and was worth the money I paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne_WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night break. The hotel is in an excellent location, great for seeing the sights.

Check in was pleasant. We were given room 408, there are 2 lifts so no problem.

The room itself was tiny, and once the travel cot was in you couldn't swing a cat! The wardrobe is tiny, enough for a couple of days but no more. We found the tea/coffee facilities in there so actually thought it was a cupboard

That said, it was exceptionally clean. Fully serviced and had a bath (which you do not always get in Amsterdam).

Breakfast was 19 euro each for a selection of cold meats and bread (Dutch breakfast). We actually left the hotel and found a few great places to have breakfast for about 7 euro! Much happier with that :0)

Overall a good stay, great location but no idea how it is 4 star.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's central, clean and staff are polite. It's really well located with just about everything within walking distance. There's a cafe across the square which opens early so you you can get a caffeine fix - when jet lagged and wide awake at dawn, this is important. It is a good hotel and does the job but by no means luxury.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the lower floors because the lift is small and takes ages to come.Much quicker to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend and was happy with the hotel. It was close to the main square and walking distance from Central Station so it was easy to get to and from the airport. During our stay the air conditioning wasn't working but the rooms were cool enough anyway so it didn't matter. The staff behind the desk were friendly and helpful. The only downside was our room at the back of the hotel was VERY noisy at night as there was a cafe/bar right outside. The hotel would really benefit from double glazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMeMore5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel several times and it is on a very high quality.

It is about 10 minutes walk from Centraal Station and is directly behind the Royal Palace and The Damrak.

Nearby Attractions are The Magna Plaza Shopping Centre (next door) and Madame Tussauds
(1 minutes walk). It is also about 5 minutes walk from The Red Light District and 10 minutes on The Tram to The Van Gogh and National Museums and The Vondelpark

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PerthTrueBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#132 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Port van Cleve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Port van Cleve

Property: Die Port van Cleve
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176 /180, 1012 SJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Port van Cleve 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Die Port van Cleve is a famous Dutch hotel located directly behind the Royal Palace & facing Dam Square. Due its central location, you will find many touristic and cultural sites within walking distance. Hotel Die Port van Cleve has a rich history. Heineken opened its first brewery in this building in 1864. Brasserie ‘De Poort’ is famous for its numbered steaks and Bar-Bodega ‘De Blauwe Parade’ has an unique Delft blue tile fresco dating from 1887. At the beginning of 2012, rooms were soft refurbished and all rooms were redecorated with references to the authentic tile fresco in the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Die Port van Cleve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Die Port Van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam
Die Port Van Cleve Amsterdam
Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing