We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #110 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

The hotel is in Rembrandtplein and the famous nightclub Escape is next door of the hotel. lf you are going to Amsterdam to have fun (which is most of us going for ) , this hotel is the right place to stay.
Flower market is few steps away. From the hotel you can walk to all the hot spot in the city , which is very important for me when l am traveling.
The hotel has an elevator which is an advantage cause in Amsterdam most of the hotels dont have an elevator and you have to carry your bag up through the tight steps.
Our room was close to the elevator hall cause of that at nights it could be noisy.
Bathroom was small , but you could find everything there, what you would need.
disposable hair brush , shaving kit , tooth brush...etc
Room was very clean. Whatever you need they were bringing to the room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morticiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    410
    152
    51
    21
See reviews for
103
443
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Good location for everything, room very nice, staff okay, overall good stay.
High speed internet was chargable and restaurant was across the square.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsbenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

NH Caransa ,located on the Rembrandt square, is an ideal location if you have business in the center of Amsterdam. The abundance of bars, clubs and restaurants in and in close proximity of the square add to the experience of being in Amsterdam. Public transport (trams) are a great way to get around if you don’t feel like walking. Although almost everything is within walking distance.

The hotel is self is located between two bars/pubs and can get a little loud if you book a room facing the square. I usually stay during the week and have little or no problems with the noise. The rooms have all been renovated and are tastefully decorated. During all my stays , 5 so far, the rooms have been clean and staff have been most helpful. The bathroom can sometimes be on the small side depending on which room you book. During one of my stays I was given a room at the back of the hotel with shower instead of the usual shower/bath. I didn’t find it a problem as I usually just shower anyway.

Internet access (wifi) is hosted by Swisscom and in my opinion is way too expensive. The hotel offers use of the terminal in the lobby but I have never used it and am unable to state the rate they charge. I usually opt for my blackberry for my incidental web browsing.
As mentioned in previous reviews the hotel does not have a restaurant or bar. From what I understand these are still being renovated. This means a walk across the square to the sister hotel NH Schiller for breakfast. It’s not a huge problem but more of a inconvenience, I don’t mind the fresh air and its only a few yards. As far as the hotel bar is concerned, I think you’d be nuts to want to sit at a hotel bar with the abundance of establishments to choose from on the square, again this is just my opinion.
The service in the hotel has always been friendly and the staff go out of their way to provide any assistance. I have had problems with bookings (due to problems with my company’s travel agent and the NH booking system) on more than one occasion but the staff have always done their best to accommodate me.

I enjoy staying at this hotel and would definitely recommend it to my friends and co-workers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
217 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

True to the standards of the NH hotel chain, the Caransa is modern, extremely clean, spacious and comfortable. A long narrow spartan lobby takes you off the busy and beautiful Rembrandtplein square after a day spent roaming the canals and streets of Amsterdam. Upstairs, the room was far bigger than most in Europe, with large clean modern bathroom and two minimalist beds with fresh new comfortable linens. Our room had a view out onto the Rembrandtplein square! Though the square can get very busy on some nights, thanks to the many bars, cafes and clubs, the windows blocked out the noise. (clearly the hotel designers understood the noise issue)
Though lacking any specific charm of an old Amsterdamn hotel, with narrow staircases or odd-shaped rooms, the NH Caransa is a great choice for someone seeking comfort, space and cleanliness amidst the chaotic other charms of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washbrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed here for a Friday and Saturday night, and I agree with most comments that some people may find it a bit noisy. However, the square the hotel is located has a brilliant selection of bars and restaurants which suited me prefectly. I didn't find the noise too bad anyway.

Good clean hotel, friendly staff and very good price by Amsterdam standards.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviationNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

Very modern, well appointed rooms with big windows- many overlooking Rembrandtplein. Rooms are dark wood and white walls with a couple clever design features. Decent bath and nice common areas with everything you'd expect from a newly renovated property. Nothing is more than a 20 minute walk from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalDavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Excellent large rooms,friendly staff, a little bit noisy at weekends ,but it's ok.Excellent breakfast,although you have to cross the square to schiller hotel as there is no breakfast room in the caransa!generally great!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#238 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#104 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing