We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Caransa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #115 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

great location, good hotel, excellent service. could be a bit cleaner but in general recommended. stuff is very helpful and the hotel is a few minutes walking distance from the main attractions. the next door sports bar is great too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ran13293984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    387
    139
    49
    20
See reviews for
94
405
34
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Chose hotel mainly because all major attractions were within 10-15 minutes walk. Room was large enough to include cot but had no wardrobe wherein to put clothes.
Breakfast was adequate as we had cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon, cheese and hams, bread fruit and pastries, juices etc.
Have two complaints though: (1) used hotel mainly to shower and rest... Resting during the night was almost impossible...out of 7 nights we managed to sleep decently only on 3 nights ... Rembrandtlplein is like being in the middle of paceville in Malta :(
(2) during holiday had an accident due to the inefficient service of Lovers cruise line.... During the night of the accident I tainted the blankets with blood ... Blankets were not changed during 3 consecutive dates ....
Overall, our amsterdam experience was really nice especially when considering that we were travelling with our 1.5 year old baby : )))

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fawwarakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

It's really horrible experience to stay in that holiday! When i checked in, i didn't get any warm welcome from the receptionist in the counter. She wasn't friendly or helpful, and not show me the way to the room, etc. The safe in the room is too small which i can put my laptop into it! For the bed, the cover and blanket has dirty marks on it, i have removed this before sleeping.
On the next day morning for checking out before going to work, i waited for the lift for more than 10 mins, but the lift not arrived and no sounds. Then i went back to my room to call the reception. Then the staff found out the lift was not working. Poor services. Once i was down there, the staff didn't apologize for any inconvenience caused to me and didn't even have smile or greeting to me at all. When i checked out, i asked for booking a taxi to airport at 7pm that evening. On that evening i arrived back to hotel at 6:45pm, the taxi didn't turn up at 7pm. I asked the staff in the reception to help me to find out what's going on. I did ask very polite, but the staff didn't even helpful at all...instead she was refusing to help as i didn't say "please" but i said to "thank you" when i first asked in the beginning. How come she suppose to serve me, but she didn't deliver the service and ask for thank you instead. What awful experience! Except you want to be tortured by them, then you can try that hotel. Otherwise, i do recommend you to stay in "The Albus" instead, as it's the same area. The Albus has much better services, room, and friendly, smiling stuffs. The most important is The Albus is cheaper!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank MUChampions2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have stayed at many NH hotels in other cities, and nearly always had a great expererience. I was a wee bit disappointed with this one. There's nothing drastically wrong with the hotel, no smelly toilets or dirty sheets. All of that is good. The two negative comments i do have are that the rooms were terribly small for the price you pay (i was paying about EURO 200 a night) and the exterior of the hotel (and the reception area) are quite shabby. When you come back to the hotel at the end of a day out in the city, it really isn't a very cheerful sight.

The positives - the rooms and toilets were very clean. The hotel is very well located too, right on Rembrandtplein, which is a short walk from most of the interesting parts of the city center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nondenom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully tucked away amongst the city centre squares of Amsterdam. Located between some nice local bars, the reception team are very friendly and always on hand to help. They stored our bags both before check-in and after we had checked-out ( not many places offer this service). Only down fall is there was only 1 lift, so you had to wait for that to come from the top. Otherwise a great hotel and would recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very noisy because Rembrandt Square is crowded day and night and you can hear noises at all hours. Even employees know; into the room there are earplugs, and at the reception you can ask the sleeping pills. The rooms are arranged in a hurry and cleaning is not at the top.
As it 4 stars is a bit poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bergeretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#154 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#244 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, NHHotels, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing