We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, basic rooms , very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Caransa
Ranked #121 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
IRELAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location, basic rooms , very good”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter weekend , hotel is in great location couldn't be better really , tram right outside , bars restaurants also ,right next door to the tree sisters English pub, dam square and red light district 10 min walk and it's nothing as you've so much to look at , hotel itself basic but no complaints , it's clean , modern enough , and has everything you need for a few days away in city centre. We would definitely go back here and recommend it : )

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    415
    157
    53
    22
See reviews for
106
448
35
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the NH Caransa for my partners Birthday in August 2012.

Before arriving, I informed the hotel of my partners Birthday and there waiting for us were a selection of dutch chocolates which was a real nice touch and a lovely welcome by the hotel staff.

We stayed on the first foor and had a great view of the lively Rembrandtplein square which provides street entertainment throughout the day and into the evening. Our room was spacious and very clean. The AC blew nice and cool (much needed in August!) and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure in the shower was hot and powerful.

Location wise, you really can't beat the NH Caransa. You really are in the heart of this great city and each attraction is no more than a 10 minute walk so you do not need to use the trams.

In and around the area you have lots of good restaurants, bars, nightclubs, cafes, coffee shops and convenience stores.

Tourist Attraction wise, Amsterdam has so much to offer. Make sure you check out the Van Gough Museum, The Rijksmuseum and Anne Frank's House. Experience some local culture and go find a decent coffeeshop and chill for a few hours. Hiring a peddle boat and cruising along one of the many canals should be a must on your trip and you HAVE to check the Red Light District just to have your eyes opened.

One note to mention. Rembrandtplein is a meeting spot for lots of people and the hub for social activity. If your a person who goes to bed early then you may struggle for sleep as all street entertainment finishes at 11pm. This wasn't a problem for us though.

Can't wait to go back to Amsterdam and stay at the NH Caransa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We would come back here again. hotel, room breakfast could not fault it. The location for everything easy to follow maps. Red light district quite an eye opener. Anne frank house is a must. Would come bacK IN SUMMER.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked this hotel using points through United Mileage Plus and, upon arrival, was given a room on the 5th floor with a view of the air con unit and fire escape/alley. The room was extremely dark and dated. It's disappointing when using points/miles to book and getting the least desirable room in the place. Worse, the bathroom was not clean, and the trashcans not emptied from the previous lodgers. When I complained, the nice woman at the reception upgraded me to a suite on the sixth floor with a huge balcony overlooking Amstel. While this was a wonderfully kind gesture, there were some similarities to the first room: the lighting was poor; the bed linens and towels were of poor quality; bathroom was dated (though shower nice); and the room, overall, had a cheap feel to it.

Overall, this is a three-star hotel with some wrinkles to iron out in terms of facility and amenities. Location is great - just outside the crazy Centrum near the Vondelpark, museums, and University, but close enough to the center for easy access to Centraal Station and the touristy core. Would likely not stay again until after a refurbishment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg4878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is second time I stay in NH Caransa. Because we like Rembrand Square, several times we stayed in NH Schiller just opposite side of this hotel. In last stay because rooms were larger and more modern in Caransa, this time we again chose this hotel.

I Think in first stay we were in Superior room, it was really nice and large. This time in standard room, I can not say we were so happy. Room and bathroom are quite small. If you stay in this hotel better chose Superior or Deluxe rooms.

Staff and service were quite OK. Only free wifi is extremely slow. No chance to send and receive emails with attachment. I think next time I will look another hotel around.

Room Tip: Do not take standard room. Too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_go_my_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Me and my three friends stayed here in December, and we had no problems at all!! Check in was so simple, friendly staff. The wifi worked in our hotel room so we never had any problems with that! We stayed on the third floor, in two 'double rooms' which were just two twin beds pushed together. But as we weren't couples it was okay, so if you are staying as a couple I'd ask about an actual double bed I could imagine it to be a bit of a mood killer if one of you were to fall between the beds haha. The only down side to our room was the view of another building but when you're in Amsterdam I think the last place you want to spend your time in in the room. The bathroom was great, always very clean and beds made everyday unless you asked them not to be. Although if you aren't an early riser be careful the maids like to just come on in if you don't answer the door straight away. The hotel was close to everything, but then again everything in Amsterdam seems to be pretty close together! But yeah we all had a very plesant stay at the NH Caransa! If you want clean rooms, and a comfy bed look no further :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I choose this hotel because of its location, it looked clean and smart and as I said close to Dam square, shops and nightlife.
I booked 4 rooms for a hen do and there were all really nice, clean and to 4 star standard. However the heating wasnt great, two rooms didnt work and my room and luke warm water. This might just be that everyone was using it at the same time.

We didnt have breakfast as hadnt heard great reviews and for the price offered I would go to one of the numerous cafes on the doorstep.

The room had a fridge (so we brought milk for tea) and a kettle, haridryer which was handy.

Really easy to get to Dam square (10 minute wak), red light district etc, and the tram is right outside.

Room Tip: It does get noisy at night as its right above clubs and bars. Ask for a high up room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#153 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#67 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#242 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Caransa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Caransa

Property: NH Amsterdam Caransa
Address: Rembrandtplein 19, 1017 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Caransa)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Binnenstad , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Caransa 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam Caransa hotel in Amsterdam is located in the very center the city on Rembrandt Square, which is considered the heart of Amsterdam nightlife. The hotel is also located close to the commercial district, the city's famous flower market, and many other places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your NH Amsterdam Caransa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Caransa Amsterdam
Nh Caransa Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing