We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent hotel; good location”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #218 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Memphis is a very good hotel in a good location in Amsterdam. Previously others have said that it is not suited for people going to Amsterdam to party and I have agree; however, if you are going to Amsterdam to see the city and get a feel for the culture it is ideal.

You need to get a tram from Centraal station to get to the hotel. Walking is possible but would be very long. The rooms are good sized and have what you need in a hotel.

Prices in the hotel bar were a little pricier than I feel they were worth and that would be my only complaint. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Drbinoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for The Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is in a lovely and quiet area of Amsterdam and at the same time easy to access by trams. Within easy reach of the Van Gogh museum, the opera house, the parks, and lovely historical buildings which are the norm in the whole city.

It is clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The evenings are quiet and one can take long walks or bike rides. Some lovely corner bistros to watch the Amsterdam life go by as they swing around corners in their bikes. Great for short stays and exploring Amsterdam.

The hotel easily arranges your tours and you can pay all this at the hotel which is a great service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Wilma T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed in the Memphis for 2 nights. I booked it though the hotels website. The hotel is situated right beside the 16 tram stop so its perfect for getting in and out of the main areas of the city. Found the staff very helpful and pleasant, we were also given complementary drink vouchers on arrival to use at the bar. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: Book in advance
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paperparametrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

3 nights here Sunday to Wednesday. We arrived an hour or so before check in but were happy to be told they had a room ready. Room 308 was fine in many respects with wall mounted TV, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. However, the strangest arrangement was the toilet. Normally the toilet is all part of the bathroom in a hotel but the toilet in this room was separate from the bathroom. I mention this as it doesn't really equate with good hygiene to finish using the toilet where, before you can wash your hands you have to use handle to open toilet cubicle door, cross a step and a half to bathroom door, put your hand on the handle to open that before you have access to wash basin. I don't think this is common to all rooms here and now I guess that's why there was a room available an hour or so before our check-in time. Bit worried also that this considered good enough for 'Brits' as we overhead young British couple declare their room number as 408 directly above us where I should imagine they had the same set up. 308 is also directly opposite the lift/elevator area so can be a bit noisy with inconsiderate people coming back to their rooms after midnight. On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable (memory foam mattress). Although the sheets were clean I did notice (when I pulled back all linen to see manufacturer of mattress) that the mattress protector had more than one 'yellow' stain so bit of a yuk factor there. We had breakfast included and it was simple and nice and I was happy to see that they had scrambled eggs, bacon and beans as part of the buffet (they had small sausages too but not at all tasty). The breakfast area was nice to eat in although I would ask that the staff allowed the guests to be allowed a little morning peace as they have a habit of communicating to each other in a loud across-the-room manner. The Memphis is absolutely fine for a 10 minute easy walk to the Museum quarter but a bit far from the city centre's other main attractions. We like to walk so this was not a problem for us. However a tram pass would help anyone else come to terms with this. Hotel is situated on a main road but it's quiet enough to have a relatively peaceful stay here. 4 star NO 3 star YES. For example when we asked if we could take our breakfast coffee out to some tables outside we cheerily told yes no problem but could we bring the cups back inside ourselves as they didn't have someone to do it for them that day (of course we took the cups in but a 4 star hotel would never have to ask guests to do this). Would I return here......YES but I'd definitely reject room 308, 408 because of that separate toilet factor. Would I recommend it...........YES but as a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Reject rooms 308 and 408 (and possibly 208 and 508 if these are in line with 308 and 408). You have...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

First of all, I want to say that this was our first time in Amsterdam. We loved Amsterdam very much! Our hotel room was very nice and spacious! Although two other business associates we traveled with said their rooms were very tiny compared to ours. Our bed appeared to be 2 twin mattresses pushed together and sleeping in center felt like we would fall through! Covers for bed was a duvet with a heavy down comforter inside. No sheet. So if you were hot, you had heavy duvet or nothing at all. They served a complimentary breakfast each morning which was nice. Location was very close to bus line, restaurants, and even a grocery. We will definitely return to Amsterdam and would have no problem returning to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wish I hadn't read reviews 2 nights before going, I worried about mice for days! But when we got there the neighbourhood and location are fab, the room Was clean and no sign of furry friends! Lovely room and breakfast, slept soundly the 2nd night not worrying and would definitely recommend and come again!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#160 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#241 of 371 in Amsterdam
710 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,010 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#103 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $113 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing