We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but not 4 star”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #218 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ok, but not 4 star”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

3 nights here Sunday to Wednesday. We arrived an hour or so before check in but were happy to be told they had a room ready. Room 308 was fine in many respects with wall mounted TV, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. However, the strangest arrangement was the toilet. Normally the toilet is all part of the bathroom in a hotel but the toilet in this room was separate from the bathroom. I mention this as it doesn't really equate with good hygiene to finish using the toilet where, before you can wash your hands you have to use handle to open toilet cubicle door, cross a step and a half to bathroom door, put your hand on the handle to open that before you have access to wash basin. I don't think this is common to all rooms here and now I guess that's why there was a room available an hour or so before our check-in time. Bit worried also that this considered good enough for 'Brits' as we overhead young British couple declare their room number as 408 directly above us where I should imagine they had the same set up. 308 is also directly opposite the lift/elevator area so can be a bit noisy with inconsiderate people coming back to their rooms after midnight. On the plus side, the beds were very comfortable (memory foam mattress). Although the sheets were clean I did notice (when I pulled back all linen to see manufacturer of mattress) that the mattress protector had more than one 'yellow' stain so bit of a yuk factor there. We had breakfast included and it was simple and nice and I was happy to see that they had scrambled eggs, bacon and beans as part of the buffet (they had small sausages too but not at all tasty). The breakfast area was nice to eat in although I would ask that the staff allowed the guests to be allowed a little morning peace as they have a habit of communicating to each other in a loud across-the-room manner. The Memphis is absolutely fine for a 10 minute easy walk to the Museum quarter but a bit far from the city centre's other main attractions. We like to walk so this was not a problem for us. However a tram pass would help anyone else come to terms with this. Hotel is situated on a main road but it's quiet enough to have a relatively peaceful stay here. 4 star NO 3 star YES. For example when we asked if we could take our breakfast coffee out to some tables outside we cheerily told yes no problem but could we bring the cups back inside ourselves as they didn't have someone to do it for them that day (of course we took the cups in but a 4 star hotel would never have to ask guests to do this). Would I return here......YES but I'd definitely reject room 308, 408 because of that separate toilet factor. Would I recommend it...........YES but as a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Reject rooms 308 and 408 (and possibly 208 and 508 if these are in line with 308 and 408). You have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euroweekenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    264
    175
    71
    65
See reviews for
94
328
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

First of all, I want to say that this was our first time in Amsterdam. We loved Amsterdam very much! Our hotel room was very nice and spacious! Although two other business associates we traveled with said their rooms were very tiny compared to ours. Our bed appeared to be 2 twin mattresses pushed together and sleeping in center felt like we would fall through! Covers for bed was a duvet with a heavy down comforter inside. No sheet. So if you were hot, you had heavy duvet or nothing at all. They served a complimentary breakfast each morning which was nice. Location was very close to bus line, restaurants, and even a grocery. We will definitely return to Amsterdam and would have no problem returning to this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Wish I hadn't read reviews 2 nights before going, I worried about mice for days! But when we got there the neighbourhood and location are fab, the room Was clean and no sign of furry friends! Lovely room and breakfast, slept soundly the 2nd night not worrying and would definitely recommend and come again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our 3rd hotel staff post London & Paris and was of the type of hotel we are accustomed to in Wellington NZ where we stay often. Really helpful & efficient staff, full breakfast, bar & restaurant. Great location right on tram route (regular and great value!) and close to local shops & cafes. AC not the best but otherwise fine1

Room Tip: We had a street facing room, was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Memphis is a small hotel about 7 or 8 tram stops from Dam square in amsterdam! We were given a room at the back of the hotel on the third floor overlooking private houses/apartments with small garden courtyards! The bed was lovely and comfortable, bathroom had really good power shower! The walls were a little thin, but luckily our neighbours were reasonably quiet. Staff were pleasant, rooms cleaned and fresh towels daily! There was a restaurant at hotel but we didn't,t eat there so cannot comment on quality. Bike hire is available, but unfortunately they had all been booked when we enquired! The hotel was located in an upmarket area, with a few nice small shops, restaurants close by. 2 tram stops took you to the museum quarter, Van Gogh museum, Rijksmuseum, lovely park area. We hired bikes close by here at Mac bikes for 17.50 euros for 24 hours including insurance. Our first trip to amsterdam, but we will return! Beautiful city! We got shuttle bus from hotel to airport (bus number 197), which stopped about 250 yards from hotel at side of opera house - 5 euros each - about 30 minute journey!

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter. We stayed on 3rd floor - bizarrely, a flock of green parrots can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was in a lovely location near the real scenic side of Amsterdam. In walking distance there was resturants. Pastry shops, boutiques and cafés . Must see the real culture of Amsterdam' Also near the tram stop that takes you into the city . Near the museum quarter where there is a super market and a street of shops. Hotel was clean and welcoming ! Would stay again . Thank you

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank priya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2014. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spacious. We had a triple room which consisted of a double bed and one single - it was a good size and there was plenty of room for three of us. Staff were pleasant. The hotel has a small bar and a restaurant (which we didn't use) but the menu looked good. They have a luggage room which was very handy for us as we had a late flight, so we could leave our luggage at the hotel and go and spend the afternoon in Vondelpark (5 minute walk away). There is Free WiFi which we managed to connect to in our room.

There is a tram stop right outside the hotel which takes you straight into the heart of the city which is about 10 minutes away. A day travelcard for the tram is around 7 EURO which works out cheaper then getting single tickets that are only valid for 1 hour. We got a taxi to the hotel from the airport which cost around 35 EURO.

We all decided that we were happy with staying at this hotel as it is situated in a quiet neighborhood away from the city centre. We would stay at this hotel again if we are ever in Amsterdam,.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sampmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#211 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#157 of 367 in Amsterdam
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,230 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#269 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#237 of 367 in Amsterdam
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing