We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avarage hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #211 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Avarage hotel, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed four nights in the hotel with two friends, we had a five days holiday in Amsterdam. Honestly, don't expect too much, this is a very avarage hotel. The room was OK, clean and big enough for three persons.The room looked to the courtyard, so it was very quiet. The furniture was a bit old fashioned, the bathroom small but clean. The hotel staff was nice and helpful. The big advantage of this hotel was the price and the great location: the museum area is in a walking distance and tram 16 stop is close by, easy to go to the centre or to the Central Station. As we were only sleeping in the hotel and spent the day in the city (having great breakfast at Cafe Het Concertgebouw), it was a perfect option and we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaK2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    254
    161
    66
    59
See reviews for
83
310
43
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The hotel by itself is ok. Front desk and lobby are fine. The disappointment come from the room. very basic small room, with a small bed, no attempt for any kind of decoration. Bathroom one side, toilet the other. Bathroom had a bath but way too small for any kind of relaxing time and left over of a sticky plastic rug at the bottom. Even the toilet paper was cheap. Room was clean however, window was opening on the road with the tram. Good location for direct access to the center with Tram 16 and Museumplat. Ok if you expect no more than a clean room to sleep in.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybear78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and compliments on the staff and cleanliness. I am aware of the bathtubs and have plans to make improvements on this point. I will also address your comment on the decorations.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Slidell, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a trade show. Close to the museum area and Vondelpark. Several high quality restaurants in the area and close to a tram that goes into the city center. If you prefer to be closer to the action and nightlife, this is not the place. However, the surrounding area is great to wander around and the rooms are clean and nice. The front desk staff were always helpful. Overall it was an enjoyable stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank shooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the Memphis Hotel!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I'm lucky to have stayed in lots of different hotels in Amsterdam , and none of them being free last week, my client booked me into the Memphis.

Arriving very late, after midnight, due to flight delays at Gatwick, I still get a very nice room. Very spacious, good bed, good strong Wi-Fi signal. The hotel looks clean, and a few paint chips in the corridor don't detract from the feel that it's nice and luxurious. Nice check in.

Good night's sleep. Breakfast is chaos. The breakfast area doesn't look big enough to cater for a full hotel, and it's a scramble for tables. Holland is not a country to visit if you like breakfast as a meal.

I'd certainly say at The Memphis again, but think I'd pop across the road to Let Spain Quotidian cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room, bed and WiFi! I will make the changes to breakfast room so we can cater for more guests in the morning. We will also address the paint in our corridors.
Thanks again for your comment end I look forward to welcoming you in the Memphis again.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this comfortable Hotel. Very helpful staff including re booking visits etc, really good breakfast, well appointed room in a good position on a tram route and just a few minutes walk to the Museums. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we had one good meal in the restaurant at the Hotel (under separate management)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are always happy the hear from guests who enjoyed the stay in our hotel!
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our 2 night stay here was part of a Groupon. The location was good - quite neighborhood which felt safe. 10 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. About 45 minutes walking to the central station.
The hotel says 4 star - maybe 4 out of 8 possible? Tiny room, tiny bed, no AC, loud as hell, and a very cheery woman yelling, "housekeeping" at 9 am and knocking on our door. Plus we heard her yelling and knocking on the other 10 doors on our floor.
The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was good except for some super annoying other guests who let their baby scream while they texted and showed each other photos.
Overall, we spent little on the vacation, so it was ok, but I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location is good, in a quiet attractive area, with easy access by public transport to the city centre. It does not however, provide a 4 star experience. The bedroom needed refurbishment. The mattresses were well past their sell by date. The staff were unable to provide me with a proper non-allergenic pillow, important as I am asthmatic. The room was too hot and at one point there was a smell of bad drains. The choice at breakfast is easily surpassed by that on offer in many Scottish 3 star establishments. While the room itself was spacious, the bathroom was very cramped and the grout on the tiling was overdue for a good clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#212 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#239 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing