We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet upscale neighborhood”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #216 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a trade show. Close to the museum area and Vondelpark. Several high quality restaurants in the area and close to a tram that goes into the city center. If you prefer to be closer to the action and nightlife, this is not the place. However, the surrounding area is great to wander around and the rooms are clean and nice. The front desk staff were always helpful. Overall it was an enjoyable stay!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank shooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay in the Memphis Hotel!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 768 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

I'm lucky to have stayed in lots of different hotels in Amsterdam , and none of them being free last week, my client booked me into the Memphis.

Arriving very late, after midnight, due to flight delays at Gatwick, I still get a very nice room. Very spacious, good bed, good strong Wi-Fi signal. The hotel looks clean, and a few paint chips in the corridor don't detract from the feel that it's nice and luxurious. Nice check in.

Good night's sleep. Breakfast is chaos. The breakfast area doesn't look big enough to cater for a full hotel, and it's a scramble for tables. Holland is not a country to visit if you like breakfast as a meal.

I'd certainly say at The Memphis again, but think I'd pop across the road to Let Spain Quotidian cafe for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claytoncast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room, bed and WiFi! I will make the changes to breakfast room so we can cater for more guests in the morning. We will also address the paint in our corridors.
Thanks again for your comment end I look forward to welcoming you in the Memphis again.

Kind regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this comfortable Hotel. Very helpful staff including re booking visits etc, really good breakfast, well appointed room in a good position on a tram route and just a few minutes walk to the Museums. There are some really good restaurants nearby and we had one good meal in the restaurant at the Hotel (under separate management)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MemphisAms, General Manager at The Alfred Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
We are always happy the hear from guests who enjoyed the stay in our hotel!
I look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Sander Veldhuijzen
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Our 2 night stay here was part of a Groupon. The location was good - quite neighborhood which felt safe. 10 minute walk to Van Gogh museum and Rijks museum. About 45 minutes walking to the central station.
The hotel says 4 star - maybe 4 out of 8 possible? Tiny room, tiny bed, no AC, loud as hell, and a very cheery woman yelling, "housekeeping" at 9 am and knocking on our door. Plus we heard her yelling and knocking on the other 10 doors on our floor.
The front desk people were very helpful. Breakfast was good except for some super annoying other guests who let their baby scream while they texted and showed each other photos.
Overall, we spent little on the vacation, so it was ok, but I will not be returning there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Odul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The location is good, in a quiet attractive area, with easy access by public transport to the city centre. It does not however, provide a 4 star experience. The bedroom needed refurbishment. The mattresses were well past their sell by date. The staff were unable to provide me with a proper non-allergenic pillow, important as I am asthmatic. The room was too hot and at one point there was a smell of bad drains. The choice at breakfast is easily surpassed by that on offer in many Scottish 3 star establishments. While the room itself was spacious, the bathroom was very cramped and the grout on the tiling was overdue for a good clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Typical of many European hotels, rooms are a bit small by US standards, but good for the area. You are just steps from the trolley so getting into the center (1/2 mile) is easy. If you want to be right in the middle of the action, this location may not be your choosing, but it is quiet and close to public transportation. There are plenty of smaller shops and restaurants within walking distance. The room was well appointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbsjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the this hotel for a week and can not fault it, our room on the 3rd floor was really spacious comfortable and warm.The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The buffet breakfast was more than adequate.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a room in the front of the building you do get traffic noise if you have the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#108 of 374 in Amsterdam
884 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#169 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#264 of 374 in Amsterdam
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $74 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing