We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet friendly hotel”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #213 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent two nights at the Memphis, great location for getting around.The trams stop nearby. A nice walk to the museum area, which is delightful.The hotel is spotlessly clean and warm, the beds very comfortable and our room was a good size. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Not a mouse did we see or hear. We did not eat at the hotel, so not able to comment on the food, although the dining area did look very smart. We have stayed in Amsterdam twice before, in Central area, this was a nice quiet alternative but not too far out. We were extremely pleased we chose this hotel and it was a great base to explore Amsterdam. We got a good deal which was very affordable, don't think we would be able to afford the normal tariff prices.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandkevin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 768 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Being located in about the equivalent distance as Clapham from Central London isn't exactly a bad thing. With 2 trams (the 2 and the 16) serving a quick route (about 10 minutes) to the central areas of Amsterdam about every 5-10 minutes all day, it was a quiet and convenient location that one shouldn't be put off by. The service in the Memphis was great. The receptionist was helpful and pleasant, and the rest of the staff I conversed with had an impressive language repertoire. Regarding the rooms, they are very, very clean, and whilst being quite interestingly decorated, they remain corporate and professional. The food and bar, despite nice, is notably pricey, with a tea costing above 2 Euros and the rest of the menu's prices falling like dominoes. I would eat out if you can, at the nearby Brasserie De Joffers, for the absolutely exquisite food and service that is well worth the price. I slept like a log, but I am aware that different rooms have different noise levels from pipes. But on the whole, for a substantial cheque, the EMB Memphis delivers what you'd expect: great service, pleasant and clean rooms, an easy commute in a very amicable neighborhood, and an overpriced restaurant. Although, don't expect much more material assets than that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

At first I was hesitant taking my family to this hotel after reading some bad reviews. We did not regret our stay here. The place is as the advert said. Good and friendly management. Although, far from the city center the trams are very efficient. The only fault I found is that the lift doesn't reach the basement rooms. This is important to the handicapped or elderly. Otherwise, I highly recommend this nice hotel. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alamo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Amazing location in Amsterdam Zuid (South), it does not get much better in Amsterdam! We stayed here only for one night. Tram 16 stops right outside the door. Bought our stay on vakantieveilingen.nl, which made it really cheap! Normal prices are way over the top; we saw the price list in our room and were kind of shocked. Bathroom is a bit old-fashioned, room is small but nice, good bed! I don’t know why, but it was really hot inside the room, even though it was (almost) freezing outside. We had to open the window/door to get some air (which makes it a bit noisy). Also we had a (water?) pipe coming from the roof leaving through the floor next to our bed and I almost could not sleep due the inconstant noise coming from the pipe. As we bought it for less than EUR 50 we will probably stay here again, whenever we need to be in the city for a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without (water)pipes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay here at the end of February. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and all staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff. The hotel was about 15 mins walk from the museum district with a tram stop directly outside meaning easy access to the centre of town. Although the hotel was quite a distance from the centre of town, about 45 mins, the walk in was great, taking in all the sights and spotting bars and restaurants we may have missed otherwise. We got a great deal on this trip from a third party booking site and if the offer came up again we would definitely be returning! A lovely few days away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Lovely spacious rooms. Minimal noise from outside. Breakfast was very disappointing not a great deal of options for vegetarians/vegans . Great location for a direct route to central via tram 16.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Adobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights here in February on an art history trip, visiting the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Modern Art museum. The hotel was very conveniently placed on number 16 tram route, which takes you direct to the musuems or right to the centre of Amsterdam and the Central Station. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious, with minimal traffic noise if the windows were shut. Breakfast was pleasant and adequate. There were good restaurants for dinner in neighbouring streets, in a quiet area near the Vondel Park. A good place to stay for easy sightseeing, but a warning- don't leave chocolate in your room, it might get nibbled!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor quiet and mice - free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#117 of 374 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#171 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,031 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#79 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 374 in Amsterdam
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $72 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing