We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #212 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

At first I was hesitant taking my family to this hotel after reading some bad reviews. We did not regret our stay here. The place is as the advert said. Good and friendly management. Although, far from the city center the trams are very efficient. The only fault I found is that the lift doesn't reach the basement rooms. This is important to the handicapped or elderly. Otherwise, I highly recommend this nice hotel. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alamo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    254
    161
    65
    59
See reviews for
83
309
43
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Amazing location in Amsterdam Zuid (South), it does not get much better in Amsterdam! We stayed here only for one night. Tram 16 stops right outside the door. Bought our stay on vakantieveilingen.nl, which made it really cheap! Normal prices are way over the top; we saw the price list in our room and were kind of shocked. Bathroom is a bit old-fashioned, room is small but nice, good bed! I don’t know why, but it was really hot inside the room, even though it was (almost) freezing outside. We had to open the window/door to get some air (which makes it a bit noisy). Also we had a (water?) pipe coming from the roof leaving through the floor next to our bed and I almost could not sleep due the inconstant noise coming from the pipe. As we bought it for less than EUR 50 we will probably stay here again, whenever we need to be in the city for a night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without (water)pipes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay here at the end of February. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard and all staff were friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff. The hotel was about 15 mins walk from the museum district with a tram stop directly outside meaning easy access to the centre of town. Although the hotel was quite a distance from the centre of town, about 45 mins, the walk in was great, taking in all the sights and spotting bars and restaurants we may have missed otherwise. We got a great deal on this trip from a third party booking site and if the offer came up again we would definitely be returning! A lovely few days away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyy182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Lovely spacious rooms. Minimal noise from outside. Breakfast was very disappointing not a great deal of options for vegetarians/vegans . Great location for a direct route to central via tram 16.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adobea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights here in February on an art history trip, visiting the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Modern Art museum. The hotel was very conveniently placed on number 16 tram route, which takes you direct to the musuems or right to the centre of Amsterdam and the Central Station. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious, with minimal traffic noise if the windows were shut. Breakfast was pleasant and adequate. There were good restaurants for dinner in neighbouring streets, in a quiet area near the Vondel Park. A good place to stay for easy sightseeing, but a warning- don't leave chocolate in your room, it might get nibbled!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor quiet and mice - free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friend in this hotel for two nights. It was located near the museum square. Tram was at a walking distance, by which one can reach city centre easily. Hotel staff was cooperative but hidden a fact from us which spoiled the stay.
At the time of checkout when we were packing our luggage, spotted that our chocolates were bitten by mouse. It was very disgusting, hotel admitted this thing and also payed for the spoiled chocolate, but mood was already spoiled. If it would have been documents in place of chocolate it would have been disaster.
Pros:
Nice and clean hotel with good sized rooms.
Tram is next to hotel by which city can be explored.
Hotel staff was cooperative.

Cons:
Breakfast was not included and it was expensive, in city it is available at much lower prices in market.
Mouse can eat the food stuff if luggage is left open in room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank shobs_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for one night in a double room in the Memphis hotel. The rooms we re spacious, beds we re very good.
The breakfast the next morning was very poor, pancakes we re in the same au- bain- marie as the bacon and scrambled egs. Choice was not very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#203 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#239 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing