We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convient for museums” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Alfred

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alfred
Ranked #242 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convient for museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed for three nights here in February on an art history trip, visiting the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Modern Art museum. The hotel was very conveniently placed on number 16 tram route, which takes you direct to the musuems or right to the centre of Amsterdam and the Central Station. The rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious, with minimal traffic noise if the windows were shut. Breakfast was pleasant and adequate. There were good restaurants for dinner in neighbouring streets, in a quiet area near the Vondel Park. A good place to stay for easy sightseeing, but a warning- don't leave chocolate in your room, it might get nibbled!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor quiet and mice - free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    194
    142
    55
    41
See reviews for
67
225
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friend in this hotel for two nights. It was located near the museum square. Tram was at a walking distance, by which one can reach city centre easily. Hotel staff was cooperative but hidden a fact from us which spoiled the stay.
At the time of checkout when we were packing our luggage, spotted that our chocolates were bitten by mouse. It was very disgusting, hotel admitted this thing and also payed for the spoiled chocolate, but mood was already spoiled. If it would have been documents in place of chocolate it would have been disaster.
Pros:
Nice and clean hotel with good sized rooms.
Tram is next to hotel by which city can be explored.
Hotel staff was cooperative.

Cons:
Breakfast was not included and it was expensive, in city it is available at much lower prices in market.
Mouse can eat the food stuff if luggage is left open in room.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank shobs_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for one night in a double room in the Memphis hotel. The rooms we re spacious, beds we re very good.
The breakfast the next morning was very poor, pancakes we re in the same au- bain- marie as the bacon and scrambled egs. Choice was not very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I had booked a 4 day trip to Amsterdam instead of the usual Christmas presents and went at the end of January. We got a good deal and werent expected much from the hotel. But how we were wrong, from the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helped us with everything. The room was brilliant had everything we needed. I cannot say anything for the bar or restaurant as we didnt use either. We booked through a third party site so it may be dearer directly booking through the hotel. The only thing I will say is people who havent stayed in Amsterdam before, there is a tourist tax we had to pay at the end of our stay, which nobody informed us about, I think it is 5% of the total bill. But double check.

Room Tip: We had room number 406, this was a double corner suite and was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhans90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I visited the hotel in November 2013 and had an excellent experience. Delicious breakfast, clean rooms and well-equipped, friendly staff, convenient location - close to the Vondelpark. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Udi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After reading reviews on this hotel and looking at its web page , I thought that I should end our European stay in style . What a disappointment ? We arrived at this hotel with the dirty red carpet at its front door .The receptionist who spoke perfect English was cold and not welcoming . We booked for breakfast as well and got no info on times etc. We had to ask about the Wifi . We were placed in 2 corner standard rooms which had extremely old and outdated furniture .Being street facing , we endured ambulance sirens every night . The breakfast was nothing special and no refills done . If you were a few minutes late - and teenagers often wake up late - it was obvious that you were not welcome . Location - nothing to shout about - close to the concert hall but you have to walk about 100 meters to catch nearest tram . Area looked safe . If I had not prepaid , I would
definitely have cancelled my booking and stayed longer at the Crowne Plaza . Note there was no toiletries at all and the towels were not even ironed and placed in a heap on our beds . The reception always had a strange smell and I am wondering if it was a rat as mentioned by other Travellers .
Amsterdam is one of the friendliest , warmest cities in the world and it was the Dutch people's warmth that made our stay in this city , a delight . Will definitely return to Amsterdam but not to this hotel .I found a delightful Nepalese restaurant in Leidesplein , very close to the Bulldog and a great South American grill house which served the greatest starter - prawns tucked into tortilla shells with a lovely sauce - and margaritas at 5 euros . Then there is the Turkish restaurant within close proximity to the Nepalese restaurant which served the best lamb chops a 12 euros .

Room Tip: Please ensure that you do no choose a street facing room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shama188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While this hotel was a bit further out, it was still an easy walk through Vondel Park to hit the action. In reality, it was nice to stay just outside the crazy. Very clean, "american-sized" hotel rooms. Great staff. And, they allow small dogs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#274 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#319 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#241 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#67 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,386 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#216 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred

Property: The Alfred
Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Alfred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing