We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, breakfast overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alfred

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Alfred
Ranked #241 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice room, breakfast overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed for one night in a double room in the Memphis hotel. The rooms we re spacious, beds we re very good.
The breakfast the next morning was very poor, pancakes we re in the same au- bain- marie as the bacon and scrambled egs. Choice was not very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    193
    142
    55
    41
See reviews for
67
224
37
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I had booked a 4 day trip to Amsterdam instead of the usual Christmas presents and went at the end of January. We got a good deal and werent expected much from the hotel. But how we were wrong, from the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helped us with everything. The room was brilliant had everything we needed. I cannot say anything for the bar or restaurant as we didnt use either. We booked through a third party site so it may be dearer directly booking through the hotel. The only thing I will say is people who havent stayed in Amsterdam before, there is a tourist tax we had to pay at the end of our stay, which nobody informed us about, I think it is 5% of the total bill. But double check.

Room Tip: We had room number 406, this was a double corner suite and was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superhans90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I visited the hotel in November 2013 and had an excellent experience. Delicious breakfast, clean rooms and well-equipped, friendly staff, convenient location - close to the Vondelpark. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Udi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After reading reviews on this hotel and looking at its web page , I thought that I should end our European stay in style . What a disappointment ? We arrived at this hotel with the dirty red carpet at its front door .The receptionist who spoke perfect English was cold and not welcoming . We booked for breakfast as well and got no info on times etc. We had to ask about the Wifi . We were placed in 2 corner standard rooms which had extremely old and outdated furniture .Being street facing , we endured ambulance sirens every night . The breakfast was nothing special and no refills done . If you were a few minutes late - and teenagers often wake up late - it was obvious that you were not welcome . Location - nothing to shout about - close to the concert hall but you have to walk about 100 meters to catch nearest tram . Area looked safe . If I had not prepaid , I would
definitely have cancelled my booking and stayed longer at the Crowne Plaza . Note there was no toiletries at all and the towels were not even ironed and placed in a heap on our beds . The reception always had a strange smell and I am wondering if it was a rat as mentioned by other Travellers .
Amsterdam is one of the friendliest , warmest cities in the world and it was the Dutch people's warmth that made our stay in this city , a delight . Will definitely return to Amsterdam but not to this hotel .I found a delightful Nepalese restaurant in Leidesplein , very close to the Bulldog and a great South American grill house which served the greatest starter - prawns tucked into tortilla shells with a lovely sauce - and margaritas at 5 euros . Then there is the Turkish restaurant within close proximity to the Nepalese restaurant which served the best lamb chops a 12 euros .

Room Tip: Please ensure that you do no choose a street facing room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shama188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

While this hotel was a bit further out, it was still an easy walk through Vondel Park to hit the action. In reality, it was nice to stay just outside the crazy. Very clean, "american-sized" hotel rooms. Great staff. And, they allow small dogs. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is quite central, and with both the number 16 and number 2 Tram stops being very close it is an ideal location to explore the delights that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room was neat and tidy and although our room was on the roadside - there was very little noise. Service was good and the prices in the bar on a par with the rest of Amsterdam.

One warning - Breakfast - we were unsure as to whether this was included in our stay - we decided to give it a go - very little choice and also very expensive for what you get.

Oh and no mice ;)

Room Tip: Flash your trip advisor tags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here after a thorough search of hotels in Amsterdam. We came across the 'Memphis' since they had a good deal on. Our stay was nothing but amazing! for the price, the room was top notch, nothing to envy 4 or 5 star hotels. Very clean, modern, and most importantly in a very nice location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, bike hire a brezze....
Would def recommend for a nice stay with your partner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#264 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
Hotel Savoy Amsterdam
#319 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#242 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#100 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#67 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,377 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#219 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred

Property: The Alfred
Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Alfred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing