We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alfred

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alfred
Ranked #245 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is quite central, and with both the number 16 and number 2 Tram stops being very close it is an ideal location to explore the delights that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room was neat and tidy and although our room was on the roadside - there was very little noise. Service was good and the prices in the bar on a par with the rest of Amsterdam.

One warning - Breakfast - we were unsure as to whether this was included in our stay - we decided to give it a go - very little choice and also very expensive for what you get.

Oh and no mice ;)

Room Tip: Flash your trip advisor tags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    196
    143
    55
    44
See reviews for
68
229
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed here after a thorough search of hotels in Amsterdam. We came across the 'Memphis' since they had a good deal on. Our stay was nothing but amazing! for the price, the room was top notch, nothing to envy 4 or 5 star hotels. Very clean, modern, and most importantly in a very nice location, central to everything. The staff were very helpful, bike hire a brezze....
Would def recommend for a nice stay with your partner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our last night in Amsterdam before flying home. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would say probably only 3 star. We found the hotel very clean and most of the staff efficient. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant/dining room and the young waitress did a great job to manage all the patrons on her own. She had a very pleasant attitude and a happy smile for everyone. The internet access was good and the midday check out also very good. The hotel is located in a convenient part of town, close to the art gallery and sourrounded by lovely shops, and houses. We were able to do a couple of lovely walks through the streets. Also close to the trams to access the inner city.

Room Tip: We had a front room over looking the street but there was no noise and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I asked for a quiet room and got one next to the elevator with a loud 'clonk'. Everything said or done in the corridor was easy to hear. As well as the creepy sound behind the wall. A rat? No, a mouse, answered the receptionist in the morning. There was a warning to keep all food in the fridge...well, I did not have any. Good distance from the Museumplein, though.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Croatia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Highly overpriced for the quality you get, certanly not 4 star worth. Strange smell in the room. There was a letter with request not to leave the food out because of the problem with mice. Kudos for admitting there was mice problem, but this should have been delt in a professional way, not putting responsibility on guests. Long wait for taxis to arrive, 15 to 20 minutes. Fairly poor breakfast choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish I could give half points because I'd like to score this a 3.5. We stayed two nights just after a massive storm. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and suggested a wonderful restaurant nearby. I loved the tree-lined streets and pretty neighborhood with only a couple of blocks to a tram stop and walking distance to the Museum District. The rooms were nothing special but the beds were comfy and the room as quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel very clean room, Affordable price, Good breakfast buffet, wonderful fresh baked breads. Several eating places are close by. Close to a train track. Friendly staff. Hotel has very good bicycles too if want to ride in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Alfred Hotel
The Alfred Hotel
#258 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#220 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred

Property: The Alfred
Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Alfred reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing