We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Our Last Night in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #220 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Last Night in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was our last night in Amsterdam before flying home. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star but I would say probably only 3 star. We found the hotel very clean and most of the staff efficient. We had a very nice dinner in the restaurant/dining room and the young waitress did a great job to manage all the patrons on her own. She had a very pleasant attitude and a happy smile for everyone. The internet access was good and the midday check out also very good. The hotel is located in a convenient part of town, close to the art gallery and sourrounded by lovely shops, and houses. We were able to do a couple of lovely walks through the streets. Also close to the trams to access the inner city.

Room Tip: We had a front room over looking the street but there was no noise and a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez2516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    224
    151
    63
    51
See reviews for
80
271
41
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I asked for a quiet room and got one next to the elevator with a loud 'clonk'. Everything said or done in the corridor was easy to hear. As well as the creepy sound behind the wall. A rat? No, a mouse, answered the receptionist in the morning. There was a warning to keep all food in the fridge...well, I did not have any. Good distance from the Museumplein, though.

Room Tip: Not next to the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Croatia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Highly overpriced for the quality you get, certanly not 4 star worth. Strange smell in the room. There was a letter with request not to leave the food out because of the problem with mice. Kudos for admitting there was mice problem, but this should have been delt in a professional way, not putting responsibility on guests. Long wait for taxis to arrive, 15 to 20 minutes. Fairly poor breakfast choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish I could give half points because I'd like to score this a 3.5. We stayed two nights just after a massive storm. The staff was very welcoming and helpful and suggested a wonderful restaurant nearby. I loved the tree-lined streets and pretty neighborhood with only a couple of blocks to a tram stop and walking distance to the Museum District. The rooms were nothing special but the beds were comfy and the room as quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Nice hotel very clean room, Affordable price, Good breakfast buffet, wonderful fresh baked breads. Several eating places are close by. Close to a train track. Friendly staff. Hotel has very good bicycles too if want to ride in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a really short break to Amsterdam in the middle of October 2013. Chose this hotel as it was on a great value Groupon deal - £80 for one night B&B for 2 people. Having read lots of appalling reviews before my trip, I was rather concerned. But I certainly didn't need to be. The hotel staff were on the whole friendly and welcoming. The hotel was very well located just by the 16 tram route and a short walk to the no 2 tram route. We thought it was very nice being slightly out of the city centre.
The hotel was clean, well kept and a great find. We ended up in the basement suite and this was a massive room with 4 beds, extra seating area, extra TV, a large bathroom, skylights and a walk in safe! The bathroom smelt of stale damp water when we first went in but the staff came quickly and we believe it was just that the room had not been used for a couple of days as once we started using the bathroom the smell went away.
Yes, the hotel has a problem with mice, encouraged by lazy guests who leave partly eaten food open in their rooms. The hotel had a letter in all the rooms acknowledging this issue and asking guests to leave food in their fridge to protect it and to stop encouraging the mice. We saw no trace of mice activity in our room, heard nothing and saw nothing.
Breakfast was good - quite a small restaurant so we had to wait for a table at 8am. The waitresses in the restaurant weren't interested. But when we sat down, the food was good, not a huge selection but it was good quality and we really enjoyed and had our fill.
I would certainly consider this hotel again on a trip to Amsterdam. The Cornelis Schuys Straat between the hotel and the no 2 tram route is well worth a walk along with its little shops and some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidays2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I came here once before on business, and when I looked to return to Amsterdam with my husband for a mini-vacation, I found myself looking at the Memphis hotel again. It's a great hotel - service is excellent, the rooms are very nice for the price and it well connected to the center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms next to the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#207 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#292 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Property: The Alfred Hotel
Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alfred Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing