We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Builds loyalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memphis Hotel Museum Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memphis Hotel Museum Square
Ranked #245 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Builds loyalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I came here once before on business, and when I looked to return to Amsterdam with my husband for a mini-vacation, I found myself looking at the Memphis hotel again. It's a great hotel - service is excellent, the rooms are very nice for the price and it well connected to the center. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Beware - the rooms next to the road can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    189
    137
    52
    41
See reviews for
62
219
37
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in October 2013. We had a wonderful time there. The hotel is fresh and clean. The service is really good and the location is great. It's walking distance to Museumplein - 500m away (where the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and Stedelijk Museum - and the concert hall Concertgebouw are located). There is a tram station nearby (1 block away) and one can take tram number 16 to go to the Amsterdam Central Station.
We had breakfast there during our stay and it was good quality but with limited options. Nevertheless, we would recommend this hotel due to its great location and good service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fazrinajasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Handy location on tram route, walking distance to museums. Neighbourhood has eating pkaces and shops. Quiet location. Staff were helpful and assisted with ticket purchases for activities throughout the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I truly believe our experience in Amsterdam would have been much better not staying at this hotel... Staff is unfriendly, not wanting to help tourist find places or advise on how to get places. Hotel smells like sewage, beds are hard and uncomfortable, room smelled of gas, walls paper thin and could hear everything...plan on walking at least 20 min to get anywhere you want to go, which isn't bad if the hotel was nice. Breakfast was disgusting as well. hotel try's to scam you on everything, they told us we could only buy tickets to canal tour at their desk which was a lie we knew and they tell you only way to airport is to take their taxi which cost 40 fixed rate and the taxi was late and then charged us 45 euros...he gave himself a nice tip...we took taxi to avoid hassle and ended up having to run to our flight to not be late...better off to take the bus 197 straight to airport or tram to central station and take train to airport....horrible horrible people that just scam you..BEWARE DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else but here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursejill8412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Memphis hotel 4 star gem on fringe of museum district
A small hotel (35 rooms) in a very posh district of Amsterdam. Excellent quiet location out of the typical tourist hustle and bustle yet within an easy walk of the Van Goth & other museums. Also very convenient to public transportation. Great neighborhood restaurants within a block or two plus it's own very serviceable restaurant, very good for dinner but overpriced for breakfast. Only negative was spotty housekeeping service. Rooms were clean & towels changed, but glasses not replaced and no tissues for two days. Despite this I will definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam. Reasonably priced for location in Amsterdam (116€ double)

Room Tip: Request top floor there is an elevator) back. It was as quiet as our home in the country
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimresrauranteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard room on the tram line side. Initially the noise was noticeable but you got accustomed to it. The hotel is old and tired, but it does have a lift. The room was large and basic with a large, comfortable and clean bed. It also had a safe. The shower was over the bath. No shampoo, conditioner or clothes line. Liquid soap in dispensers were over the bath and basin. A hair dryer was provided.

Like other reviewers we also had a visit from a mouse which ate some chocolate out of my opened carry on luggage!

Breakfast was adequate although the scrambled eggs were always nearly cold. However, there were boiled eggs too. The hotel restaurant was closed on Sunday and Monday nights. We dined
the three nights in local restaurants only 5 minutes away. Good quality and nice food and not too expensive..

There is a little supermarket in the same area where you can buy organic food and drink. On the
last day we discovered a "normal" supermarket in the next block away. We bought drinks and put them in the refrigerator in the room.

At reception you can buy both a 24 hour travel card (7.50 Euros) or 48 hour travel card for about
13 Euros. We bought a 24 hour card and used it from midday to midday. Much better value than buying single tickets which I believe are 2.80 Euros.

The reception staff were pleasant enough and it was nice to be provided with umbrellas each
time we needed one.

The taxi to the airport was 38 Euros which seems to be the standard price.

Would we stay there again - probably, but I'd also see what else was around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's a good hotel, not close from the city, but near to the public transportation. There is not facilities for a 4-stars hotel although has a nice entrance, there is not much in. The breakfast was ok and the rooms are also ok, nothing special, regular size, nothing so clean though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabasjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#158 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#90 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
King's Villa Hotel
King's Villa Hotel
#262 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The College Hotel
The College Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memphis Hotel Museum Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memphis Hotel Museum Square

Property: Memphis Hotel Museum Square
Address: De Lairessestraat 87, 1071 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memphis Hotel Museum Square 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Memphis Hotel is situated in the fashionable heart of Amsterdam just a 15 minute taxi ride from Schiphol Airport. Located within walking distance of the Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rijks Museums, the Vondelpark and stylish shopping streets.Business and Leisure HotelThe World Trade Centre and RAI Exhibition Centre are also close by making the Memphis EMB Hotel the ideal choice for the business and leisure traveller alike. Check our rooms and (business) facilities and discover what our hotel has to offer you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Memphis Hotel Museum Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing