We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Nice People - Nice Location”
Review of The Alfred Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Alfred Hotel
Ranked #219 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel. It is right on the tram route - very easy to get to from Central Station. In a very nice neighborhood with very good restaurants and a park. Easy to get a tram and go to all the museums and nightlife. When the day is through it is a nice quiet and relaxing place to come back to away from the crowds.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
There are newer reviews for The Alfred Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 739 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

As this was my first time in Amsterdam, I wanted to stay at a hotel that was small, quaint and had a "local" feel. After many reviews and research, I decided that the Memphis Hotel fit the bill perfectly.

My stay in Amsterdam lasted 17 days and my time at the Memphis Hotel was fantastic.

Upon arrival (7am) I was quickly checked in and was very surprise to find that the room was ready. Once up to the room I found it beautifully prepared. The floors were clean and the bathroom was spotless. There were plenty of towels, soap and drinking glasses. The window was open and a nice breeze drifted into the room. I found that to be a very nice touch.

The room was clean and spacious. My room was located on the fifth floor and the window overlooked a beautiful courtyard and the view of the surrounding area was gorgeous.

The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. They spoke fluent Dutch and English. I didn't have that many interactions with them but the ones I did were very pleasant.

I would definitely stay at the Memphis Hotel again and look forward to on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've debated long and hard about whether to write a review because I know what I will say will be damaging, but hopefully Hotel Management will see this, take the constructive criticism, and address their sanitation issue ASAP. I recently stayed a this hotel and paid a substantial amount and I concur with other reviewers that it's not worth that amount (this is a 3 star at best), plus the other random extras such as the 50 extra Euros charged on your credit card, and the surprise Hotel taxes at the end of your stay which kinda dampen your appreciation of the place.
The carpet indeed needs to be changed and the staff needs to improve their hospitality skills. Other than that, the location is great, think residential area near a great park (Vondelpark) and the Museums, also an easy 15-20min walk to the center or 5-10min tram ride (the #16) if you prefer not walking.

BUT...

I got woken up my first night (at nearly 3am) with the sound of crunching inside my handbag which I had left open and on the floor. A MOUSE was attempting to eat an unoped candy bar that I had in my bag. Needless to say I was grossed out, shaken and appalled. I immediately called Reception, with as much calm as I could muster to inform them of the situation. The sole working person offered to help change my rooms immediately. I accepted and ask that he check that room before giving it to someone else. He commented that he was alone.

The next nights, I slept with all my lights on, the TV on and all my bags closed and off the floor.

What saddened and suprised me is that I didn't hear a peep from management. Please know that I was neither looking for a refund nor a breakfast voucher - I only used the place to sleep - but a "I'm sorry you've experienced this and we're going to do our utmost to correct this situation" would have gone a long way. This lack of reaction tells me that the problem is recurrent, plus of course there's never just "a mouse"; if you see one, there are many.

After the incident occured, I spent my sleepless night sifting through reviews and found at least 5 with a reference to mice (including one in Italian where the reviewer is referencing a "topo"). This is just not acceptable. I think some of the bare minimums one expects from a hotel room are cleanliness and safety.

I should've of course left asap as soon as the incident occured, but in my immediate haze, I chose to believe that it was a fluke, especially since there are so many glowing reviews.

Anyway, make of this what you will. I've reviewed this on Expedia as well where I made my booking. My stay in Amsterdam was fabulous and I didn't let this incident put a damper on it, but I would hate that anyone else experience something similar and that this issue never gets addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpacegirlMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and quickly sorted out a problem with our booking (we had booked two adjoining rooms, but only one room had been allocated to 4 adults). The rooms were clean, although the bathrooms were dated. We had no major problems but there were several small 'niggles' during our stay (no towels when we arrived, shower head that had a life of its own, no maid service one day, air conditioning not efficient...). The rooms were an average to small size for a city hotel.

Yikes - I read a review from another traveller about mice in the hotel whilst I was sitting in our room!! Although we didn't see any mice, there were traps under the beds in one of the rooms and as we needed to use the emergency stairs & normal staircase due to a false fire alarm we saw several traps here too. From this I would say If you don't like mice, this hotel may not be for you!

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, and as there are some lovely bakeries and cafe's in the area and the weather was good for us this was the right choice. The hotel arranged a taxi to the airport which cost us €38 which seemed a reasonable price and saved us the hassle of catching trams & trains with our luggage.

The hotel is in a lovely area and conveniently situated for the Musuemplein area of Amsterdam. I would certainly stay in the same area when we come back again, but would try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Nice hotel of course, but very far from central Amsterdam and the rooms need better lighting, it's very dim in the rooms plus the Internet is incredibly slow. I don't recommend this hotel !! Too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahmoud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Memphis hotel is a calm hotel in a plaisant place near the mueums square (three tram stops before). The quarter is nice with a lot of small restaurants, nice bars and places where to take the breakfast. There are possibilites also to take the breakfast at the hotel.
The romms are big and clean. The staff is efficient and welcome.
A good place for some nights in Amsterdam near the old city but much more calm !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my daughter and I first trip to amsterdam and found the Memphis hotel a very pleasant experience. The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the fifth floor was very clean and the beds were very comfortable.the hotel is about ten minutes away from all the major attractions on the tram which you can get right outside the hotel.All in all a great experience for our first time in Amsterdam and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4oreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#160 of 371 in Amsterdam
525 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#241 of 371 in Amsterdam
709 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#168 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,010 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 371 in Amsterdam
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alfred Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alfred Hotel

Address: Cornelis Schuytstraat 58-60, 1071 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Memphis Hotel Museum Square)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $113 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alfred Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfred Hotel is a chic 3-Star hotel and has recently been renovated and transformed to provide trendy, modern and comfortable accommodation for all its guests. Our Hotel is suitable for anyone who is looking for culture, architecture, culinary adventures, and a chance to experience local life in Amsterdam. The Alfred Hotel is ideally located in the South district of Amsterdam. You can start your day with a walk through Vondelpark that will lead you to Museumplein where you can discover the world renowned Rijksmuseum. In the Museumplein you can also discover fine dining at the Rijks Restaurant, masterpieces at the Van Gogh Museum, modern art at the Stedelijk Museum, or one of the many concerts at Het Concertgebouw. A five minute walk from the Museumplein will take you to the picturesque World Heritage Unesco recognized Amsterdam Canals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alfred Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memphis Emb
Memphis Emb Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing