We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen to your Saves list
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen) (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #245 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amsterdam break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Caught a last minute deal through last minute.com, 4* hotel 2nights & flights for £300. Stay was fantastic, friendly staff and great location to all the attractions. Took in all the sights like the infamous sex museum, canal cruise, Madam Tussaud.
Best advice if you have small suitcase but still have 6 hrs to kill is to drop off at Dam centraal station, only costs 4 quid for a secure locker.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Amsterdam is a great city, the first time we had visited and hopefully not the last! The transfer time to the hotel took 20 minutes by train, then a short walk by tube. Bear in mind it is 15 minutes walk from Grand Central Station to the hotel if you decide not to get the tube. We attended a concert at the Ziggodome (excellent venue, but expensive for drinks/food) on the Saturday night, which took 25 minutes in a taxi and cost 25 euros.
The hotel location is very good, just a short walk from the main areas in Amsterdam. Despite being very close to Rembrant Sq (which can get very noisy in the evening) we did not have a problem with the noise and slept very well. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The decor is nice but a little tired and in need of some TLC. We didnt have a problem with the wi-fi. Our room had a canal view which was lovely. Our room was clean, with larger than average bath and powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Bed was very soft which was fine for us but may not be to everyones liking! We didnt eat at the hotel, had breakfast out which is much cheaper and gets you exploring the excellent cafes and bistros that are on offer. The hotel overall is no more than a 3 star in my opinion, but we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again if the price was right.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view at the time of booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanlou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

very friendly staff. nice decoration. but the hotel is a bit too old. the windows do not close very well. i was in a room on the first floor facing the street in the first night. it was very noisy with cars passing by, and drunk people shouting. i changed a room to the other side and things get much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank txws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Old building in a decent location, that was about the only positive thing.

Rooms were very noisey and dated, chips and cracks in room 111. Windows very thin so hear cars and even conversations outside. Impressive chandeliers but the whole hotel lacks substance in general.

The wifi was very very poor, unreliable and kept cutting out, this is never EVER a 4-star hotel, 2-star is more appropriate. When I checked out this morning at 5am the guy on the desk was rude, arrogant and unpleasant to speak to. I highly recommend you do not stay here!

Room Tip: Don't stay in any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location directly at the Amstel is splendid - many sights are in walking distance and all of them in (recommended) bike distance. The staff was friendly. Waiting times at reception (only on recepetionist present). Our room on 4th floor was clean and ok - some rain dropped throught the window, the curtain was grey and torn. The breakfast hall with ist splendid view and excellent buffet with a widse variety of fruits and cheese was a superb start in a busy day as tourist.

Room Tip: I recommend to choose a superior room with Amstel-View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zurichhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Old beautifull building, about as central to everything as you'll get.
Desparately in need of refurbishment! Public areas tatty, rooms small with high ceilings and no air con. Lots of street noise 24 hours due to having to open windows to cool room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simondpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The good thing about this hotel is its location and from the outside it looks charming. On the inside, it is in desperate need of refurbishment.

The rooms are small, which was not unexpected, but the beds are extremely soft, the TV's are old CRT type (not flat screen) and have a very grainy picture. The 'free wifi' is so slow it is almost unusable and there is a 100MB download limit, which is fine if you just want to look up the local tourist attractions, but not good if you need to do some work.

My room was on the 4th floor and as there is only one very slow lift (escalator for those whose 1st language is not English) it was somewhat time consuming getting back there.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, although not extensive, but the 20 Euro price tag is far too high and there are far better and cheaper alternatives close by.

It is branded as a 4 star but in its current condition isn't and if they do refurbish it, I am sure the nightly charge will go up from the 160 Euro per night I paid.

Amsterdam is not cheap, but I don't think this hotel is the best value to be found.

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are best and quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#13 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#237 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 26, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Doelen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam's oldest and most celebrated hotel, the NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen hotel rests on the banks of the Amstel River in the heart of the city's historic center. Dating back to the 17th century this cultural landmark has played host to everyone from Queen Victoria and Empress Sissi to The Beatles and Rembrandt-whose world famous "Night Watch" was painted on the hotel's third floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Doelen Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing