We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #158 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, mixed feelings about the hotel as previously stated the rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller about the size of a wardrobe.

Our view out of the window faced a roof with random bits of furniture so not the best view may have been better in the other side of the hotel where there is a park.

Our double bed was 2 singles pushed together and 2 single duvets :(. As previously stated the complimentary products are a bar of soap and a shower cap - although it did state in the welcome book that you could ask at reception for toiletries ( we never did - there's a supermarket 5 min away).

Pro's- the location perfect strolling distance from centre, right next to the zoo and several food places with in pottering distance

The staff are friendly, free wifi was a massive plus and really good signal at that. We found the house keeping good most days we didn't leave the hotel till 12 and always came back to the room made up (although out sheets were not changed for 4 nights).

Free tea and coffee in the lobby was great.

Would have given this hotel a higher rating if we had paid less for the stay.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Shelly,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

The only difference between this hotel and a hostel is that you have a bathroom in your room. Rooms are very small. Our room hadn't been cleaned during our stay, not even once. There are better located hotels depending on your itinerary. It says free toiletries in the description but there is only a soap bar; no shampoo, no shower gel. You should bring your own.It wasn't cheap for what you are (not!) getting. When in Amsterdam, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradoxal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.
We do clean the rooms every day unless there is a do not disturb sign on the door. In that case we do not enter the room but leave a bag with clean towells in front of the door.
All our rooms are provided with a dispenser in the bathroom which contains shower and shampoo. I am sorry to read that you could not find it.
If you had told us during your stay, we could have shown this to you and solved any problem you had.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I booked amsterdam for my fiances birthday. We stayed at hampshire for 3 nights and loved every second. What a beautiful hotel and it's out of the way of the main area so lovely to go back to after a busy day. I paid for a superior room and I am so glad I did. It was beautiful. Spacious and clean. Good facilities and we'll worth the price. Staff very friendly and welcoming. We will be back in the future thank you!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JSCL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for this nice review.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

A warm and quiet hotel with kind and friendly staff. Like everyone said rooms are really small. Our room was clean but a little bit airless. Location is close to the centre (half an hour walk or a 10 min tram ). We didn't tried the breakfast but coffee was ok. If they consider some discount for the prices, hotel will be more adviseable.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank ptserkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,

Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. As with many review comments of Amsterdam hotels in general, the room we had in the basement (002) was snug/small for two people but fine for the short stay. As the room we had was directly below the lobby/entrance, we could hear the occasional footsteps and sounds of doors closing. It was noticeable, but wasn't a big deal as we were out all day and didn't get back to the room until late anyway. The hotel provided a standing fan as the room was pretty hot. The room price included breakfast which was not outstanding but a reasonable and convenient buffet spread to start the day. Service and reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is not right in the centre of the city's action but close enough to walk (or take a tram). Big advantage is it's really quiet at night! The room and bathroom were cleaned every day, no complaints. The free wifi access without the need for special log-in codes was a big plus. The no.9 tram stop is nearby to get to the city centre and also Schipol airport via Centraal train station (allow at least an hour for travel). Can also ask the reception to book a shuttle transport to the airport for 17euros giving at least 2 hours advance notice. Would definitely consider staying here again!

Room Tip: Don't go for any of the basement rooms if you really want a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you for your review overhere in Tripadvisor.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and are recommending us.
This is highly appreciated.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Perfect hotel for nights out in Amsterdam. With a tram stop right outside it's so easy to go all round Amsterdam. I would recommend getting a tram pass for your time in Amsterdam as they are so useful! Hotel staff are friendly and nice but rooms aren't anything special, but more than enough just to freshen up and rest your head!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank curtisannabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Dear Sir, Madam,

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your expereince in our hotel.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in July 2014. Experience was very mixed. It is well-located and easy to get to, there are many nice places to eat/socialise in the area if you don't want to do the more busy, tourist places in the City Centre. Staff were helpful and the hotel reception with its ice machine and free tea/coffee machine was also very useful whilst you plan where to go/meet up etc. However, the room was very quirky - toilet and shower in separate 'cupboards', sink in the room. The room was large but the whole place had a grubby feel and the toilet had a lingering odour. Their towel policy is a bit different from the norm - we left some on the floor on the basis that we thought they would be changed - they were re-folded and put back on the shelf! With typical English reticence we went with it ( it was only two nights) but I would not re-book or recommend. It's a shame because there is a lot going for it and it is not the most expensive hotel to stay at - just a bit more attention to detail and it would be good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Wendy,

thank for writing your experience overhere. It is good to read that you enjoyed our staff and service. We have changed the towel procedure this summer due to the warmth and the fact that our guests would like to shower more and use a different towel.
In the bathroom we have expelained about the towel procedure (towel on the floor is change, towel hanging on the door means using it again) Unfortunately we have had may complaints from guests who did not understand the standard procedure and therefor we have changed our policy for this summer as a test. The housekeeping did not fold up the used towels, they were just changed for clean ones and put back on the shelf.
I hope this explains the towel incident.

Kind regards,
Hans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 373 in Amsterdam
858 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#109 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $124 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing