We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel, it is what you pay for” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #166 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, it is what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here last week whilst on a short city trip in Amsterdam. Only 2 nights in the hotel, and to be honest the room was cheap as I got it part of a Lastminute.com holiday package.

It is what you pay for, the hotel is standard, rooms are average. It was clean, however the bathrooms need upgrading and smelt a lot. It was a walk in shower that I really don't like, but other than that all was ok.

Annoying that they give you two single beds pushed together, if you are going away for a couples thing I would advise against this as it's very uncomfortable!

Also just a little tip, don't sleep with the window open as the hotel is right opposite a zoo and the animal noises will drive you crazy! Instead they give you a fan that you can plug in.

The location is very good, a short tram ride (number 9) into the city centre which takes about 10 minutes. Theres a delicious cafe two doors down called Coffee and Art, the full english is unusual but great. Also the Artis zoo opposite is a fantastic day out, I highly recommend!!

I would give the hotel a higher rating if the bathroom was a bit nicer and if the bed was a double bed. All in all, it does the job if you are only staying a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear SG222,

thank you for writing your comments about your stay in Amsterdam overhere.
The hotel has more twin room (two beds pushed toegther) simply because the majority of our guests ask for it. We are always willing to offer room changes or honour a request for a double bed if we know; we do have double beds.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    403
    296
    98
    52
See reviews for
118
456
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

enjoyed our stay at this hotel. only ten minutes from the centre. Room was clean and good size seeing as we only paid for a small room. Batteries were not in the remote when we arrived but this was soon sorted out when I asked for more at the reception desk. Had to pay 10 euro service charge when leaving the hotel (even though our last minute package said it was included in our holiday) so be prepared for this when checking out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Abby68,

thank you for your comments in your review overhere.
In Amsterdam, hotels are asked by the City of Amsterdam to charge the guests tourist tax which is never included in any rates. The VAT tax is included but the tourist tax isn ot.
The service charge you mentioned is the tourist tax which we, as hotel, have to hand over to the city of Amsterdam.

I hope this explains the "service charge" you mentioned in your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights before taking a river cruise. Hotel is good value, and has helpful, pleasant staff. Building is older with a lot of character. Breakfast included is decent and sets you up for a day exploring Amsterdam. Watch out for the crazy bicyclists!
Only criticism is it's a good 20 minutes walk from Dam Square. But it is right on the tram line.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear John W,

thank you for taking the time to write your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyued your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Found this hotel through Booking.com and it offers value for money to a family on a budget who were looking to maximise our time in Amsterdam.
Rooms were small but cosy rather than poky !
Breakfast was easy enough basically as much buffet as you could handle usual stuff toast, croissants, pan au chocolait, cereals, cold ham,salami, cheese etc. Coffee,juice and tea.
Excellently placed about 10 mins from Dam Square , 12 minutes from Centraal Station (and trains to Schipol) plenty of eating places near to hotel and lots in on the tram. 9 & 14 tarms stop outside hotel. 9 takes you to Centraal Station and 14 to Dam Square and Jordaan area.
Loved Amsterdam first time for our family.
You must see Anne Frank House, Resistance Museum both excellent about Nazis and Jews.
Van Gogh unmisssable; Stedilijk a bit oatchy some good Malevich and Mondriaan but some poorer later 20th century stuff.
Do buy the Iamsterdam card as it saves money and DO go on the free boat trip around the canals as it shows you what areas might be interesting for you.
Heineken Experience good too and 2 'free' beers included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkla07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear mkla07,

Thank you very much for your review and your recommondations on things to do in Amsterdam. This really helps our guests.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Comfortable rooms and lovely staff. One of them even spoke Spanish, that was a plus since we were staying with Spanish-only speaking friends. The breakfast was a nice buffet that even had some traditional food, though mostly it was international food. There is an elevator, in case one isn't very fond of stairs.
We walked from there to the city center and it wasn't that far away, but since we love walking we didn't feel it. It was safe and the city has a lovely, relaxed vibe. I fell in love with Amsterdam right there.
If you aren't fond of walking or cycling, no fear, close from the hotel there is a tram stop. One of the stops for the canal boat tour is also nearby, so it is convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReleenaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear ReleenaL,

It is very nice to read that you fell in love with Amsterdam; you really enjoyed your stay and we are happy about that.
We hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights over Christmas 2013. Hotel is situated on good tram route served from centraal station. Room was ok, basic and the bathroom was very small! Breakfast was nice; good selection and kept us going for most of the day.

Room Tip: We were located on the fourth floor which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear HRB25,

thank you for taking the time to write your review overhere.
It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The hotel is conveniently situated in a quiet area, two minutes' walk from a tram stop for the no.9 (Dam Square and Centraal Station) and the no.14 (Nine Streets). There's also a night bus to Centraal from the same stop if your flight arrives or departs when the trams aren't running. There are a number of decent restaurants (italian, chinese) just round the corner, and an ATM close by. The Artis Zoo is literally across the road.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. There's no restaurant, but there's an 'eat as much as you like' breakfast room with a big selection from a buffet. At Euro 15 it's not cheap, but we could see guests making up rolls, sandwiches, and fruit for their packed lunches, which makes it better value :-) The reception room upstairs has tea and (ground) coffee from a free vending machine - it got quite lively in the evenings while we were there. There's a computer there for guests' use, and free Wifi (which also worked from our rooms).

The rooms are nothing special: comfortable beds, desk, wardrobe with a safe, cramped en-suite bathroom with a shower, WC, and sink. Our room (001) was at semi-basement level (the window looked out at street level), which didn't help the plumbing. When I took a shower, the shower tray filled up with water to an ominous level. Flushing the loo would occasionally cause water to bubble up from the drain in the shower tray. People worried about water borne diseases (diarrhoea, hepatitis A, typhoid, cholera, etc) would be advised to request a higher altitude room.

The walls and floors of the hotel were not particularly soundproof. If your neighbouring guests are inconsiderate, noisy, or drunk (or all three) you may not get a good night's sleep. Luckily the neighbourhood outside was pretty quiet while we were there.

Would we stay there again? yes, if the price was right. It's not the kind of hotel that will make your holiday especially memorable, but it won't ruin it either.

Room Tip: Beware of the plumbing at the bottom of the hotel ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmcc_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear jpmcc_ta,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#131 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing