We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #165 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had no problems. When we first arrived they put is in a twin room with the beds pushed together but moved us straight away when we complained. The only downside was that double beds come with two single duvets as standard...and lumpy pillows! The room was clean, warm and a little 'cozy', but just what you need for a place to sleep and get ready.

The location was great if you're up for a bit of walking (or there is a tram stop about 200 meters from the hotel). You're about a 20 minute walk from Damn Square at a good pace, or a 10 minute tram journey. This hotel is a similar price to other hotels much further away from the centre.

The hotel breakfast was €15 each a day so we didn't eat there. There is a really nice little bakery around the corner that sold pastries, cakes and sandwiches (turn left out of the hotel and first left at the Chinese restaurant), and also a couple of little cafes close by. I would also recommend the AH (Albert Hein) supermarket about a 10 minute walk away along the tram route, just across the road from Mr. Visserplein next to Waterlooplein. Nice croissants and pastries and really cheap for a quick and low cost breakfast/lunch.

The luggage room was a god send, on the first day we arrived at the hotel at 10.00 and they held our luggage until 15.00 at check-in time, and on the day we left we checked out at 11.00 and collected our luggage at 19.00 before our journey home. It doesn't seem the most secure room so I'd advise keeping hold of any valuables, but we had no problems.

The staff were always friendly and happy to offer any advice on attractions/transport.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the ground floor near reception/public toilets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Nicolalvy,

thank you for your review over here.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    387
    284
    97
    49
See reviews for
113
439
39
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I asked for a quiet room 3 times before arrival, was ignored and room 1 was horrible. Next to the staff kitchen & right on Main Street! I got no sleep what so ever! The toilet & shower was connected; the smell of ''you know what'' comes up in the shower when you flush the loo! The travel agent refused to refund me or give me compensation - I have since closed my Avios account.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear John A,

I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days, room was quite small but it was clean And the staff were very helpful, it wasnt a shabby room it was very modern. The bathroom was tiny but it didnt matter. location was great because its about 20min walk to red light district, or about 10mins to remembrantplein. Its nice to have a hotel outside of the hustle and bustle Which means you get to enjoy the peace outside the city! This hotel has a lovely park next to it which is nice to relax in! Good tram connections to the city, pretty easy to work out. Also i didn't eat the breakfast at the hotel there is a lovely little cafe right next door to the hotel which has wonderful cheaper breakfast! The staff at the hotel even allowed us to order dominoes in!
overall i would definitly stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank meow1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Meow1991,

thank ou for your kind words.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it served its purpose rooms were on the small side as was the bathroom and shower area and tbh it needs a bit of an upgrade . However it was only a 15mins walk to Dam Sq so was in a decent location. As has been said wifi was very good and clean linen every day. Would I stay again? No

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Craig G,

thank you for writing your review overhere.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on a recent short break. It was fine for us, practical, central, clean (ish), pleasant staff, comfy beds, but had I booked this for a romantic break with my husband I would have been devastated. It does what it says on the tin.
My only real criticism is the smell of our bathroom. It was foul, and I see from other reviews it is a known problem. Having returned and reread reviews where other people do not mention a smell I assume that some rooms were ok. I mentioned it to reception staff each morning and evening of our stay, but they never offered to change our room, and I find myself a little annoyed now that we could have had a more pleasant trip in a different room...if only they had offered. If I stayed again I would insist on a different room...a word to the wise....don't stay in room 223!
On a positive note, the coffee at breakfast was fantastic, the breakfast was good, and trams 9 and 14 stopped right outside.

Room Tip: Don't have room 223. If your room smells awful insist on changing it...it won't go away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Janedona,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
It is good to here what our guests experience and I will certainly investigate your comments about this smell in the room. I am sorry that did effect your stay but I do hope that overall you have had a good time in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are medium sized but the bathroom is small. The walls are also very thin and you can hear noise from next door and beyond. The rooms are clean and you get fresh linen everyday. Would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Dedan D,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very good location, and very reasonable prices. Good internet connection. The only con were the very (very) small room and bathroom. However, if you're a solo traveller and don't need a desk, it's ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Io I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hansk020, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Lo l,

thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing