We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Ranked #166 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A group of us have stayed at this hotel this week. Yes the hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms are small but are clean. The rooms are quite warm but we are provided with a fan.

Enjoyed our stay not that we spent much time there as we were visiting all the sights. The hotel is ideal as it is just away from the city centre but it is a short tram ride from everything. We would recommend getting an iamsterdam card for your time in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Aimee,

thank you for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you back in the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    403
    296
    98
    52
See reviews for
118
456
42
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a disappointment in general terms, but the worst thing was the service.
At our arrival time, there was two staff members at the counter, and none of them gave us a simile o even say "welcome". Same thing used to happen every morning when we get out, nobody turn or look us and say "bye, have a nice day". We were looking to them waiting to say "good morning" and "thank you".... but nothing. OH surprise!!! when we made the check out, there was a very kind lady who ask who was our tryp, the city, the hotel... finally!!
In other terms, the hotel has very little rooms, and smaller bathrooms. Nice furniturs and comfortable beds. Not so clean if you see under the bed, and the bathroom is not so clean as you can expected.
The best is the situation. 10-15 minutes to the center, it´s a quite and clean area, and you don´t hear anything at night time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EduTachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear EduTachu,

thank you for writing your comments overhere.
It is good to have some feedback from our guests. I will certainly use your comments to improve our service.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked our flights and accommodation together, and chose the Hampshire located in Plantage Middenlaan. The hotel is quite basic, but was very comfortable! Staff were very helpful, free wifi was a great addition. Hotel rooms are quite small but me and my friend moved around the room quite comfortably. Yes the bathroom is small but you don't go on holiday and spend it in your hotel room!

The hotel is a teeny bit out from the centre, right across from the wonderful Artis Zoo. The centre is extremely accessible by tram, which we used daily. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, but twenty yards down the road is a lovely wee cafe with extremely competitive prices for breakfast, and lovely it was too. There is a lovely Chinese on the corner of the street, and on Plantage Kerklaan (round the corner) is a lovely pasta/pizza restaurant called PastaVilla, where the food is just lovely and very cheap.
I would recommend buying the IAmsterdam city card, lots of discounts, free entry to places and free public transport. Canal cruises are a must, and the card entitles you to a free one!

The red light district is worth a visit, Rembrandtplein is lovely, much more sedate than Leidesplein (mental) and you must try the Dutch pancakes and their chips and mayonnaise! Just amazing.

We booked a day trip to Marken and Volendam, which was about 36 euro but worth it, you can buy these trips from the tours and tickets outlets located across Amsterdam, including on the Damrak.

All in all, the hotel was great, very close but not too close, staff very friendly and helpful. You'll enjoy a wee stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Lisa,

thank you very much for your kind words over here.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is about a 30 minute walk to central station and the red light district, which is nice. It is located in a quiet part of Amsterdam with few to no coffee shops nearby (if that is a concern to you). It is okay for a night, but I would not stay here again. The rooms were tiny, though cleanly, but no AC which was an annoyance. Also, the bathroom did not meet my standards. There was hair in the shower when we arrived and it was so small. Breakfast was very nice! And free! Overall, would not recommend due to no AC and location vs. price (135 dollars a night) If it was cheeper my review wouldnt be so harsh.

Helpful?
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Kira,

thank you for your time to write your comments.
We do not have any AC in the hotel, this is true. I hope you did not find this anywhere on your bookingsite because we try to provide all the internet sites we work with, with the proper information.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and got woken every night by the noise in the hotel - banging of room doors, loud conversation from other rooms, noise from outside, even walking down the communal corridor. The room didn't get cleaned on the first day - came back to find the wet towels still wet, beds unmade, etc. Only found out on the last night that we could replenish our own coffee and tea. We also had a couple of mosquitos in our room. The bathroom smelt because the ventilation didn't work. This was in a superior room so I dread to think what the standard rooms are like. On the positive side, the hotel is in a great location, lots of cafes nearby - much cheaper than in the centre of Amsterdam. We were able to walk to the centre easily.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Redd68,

thank you for your review.
Unless there is a do not disturb sign on the door, we clean the room every day.
It would have been great to hear your comments during your stay so we could have done something then. It is good to read you liked the location and the neighbourhood.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. The hotel is very easy to find you get the number 9 tram from central station to the zoo which is opposite the hotel. It will take about 20 mins to walk into the centre or 5 mins on the tram. We walked a few times. The hotel room was very clean. The room and bathroom were small but this did not bother us at all, like most people we were there to explore amsterdam so hardly spent anytime in the hotel. The trams start running early so if you have a morning return flight get the tram then train it is much cheaper than a taxi. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on this, we ate at a cafe a few doors down called coffee to go. We would stay here again if we visit Amsterdam again. This was our first time visiting Amsterdam we loved it. If you want to get the tram to Leidsplein from the hotel you can get the number 10 tram couple of mins walk down the road past the hotel turn right the number 9 to centre is left when you come out of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahdimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Sarah,

thank you very much for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel just outside the main part of Amsterdam. Trams stop just outside the hotel so it's easy accessible. The room is really small but cute for the two of you. They don't have double beds either, they will just throw two singles together but I wasn't botherd after a busy day out. The reception staff and nice and friendly. Would definitely return to this hotel if I return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah93_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Hannah,

than k you for placing your review here on Tripadvisor.
Looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#125 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Property: Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, 1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing