We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendship and warmth in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #72 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendship and warmth in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful stay in this warm, welcoming hotel. we were in Amsterdam for only a few days, not long enough to thoroughly enjoy our eerie on the top floor. Our room was delightfully appointed, with two windows, giving us great views of the city from two aspects. A tiny balcony enabled us to get good photos of the rooftops. Breakfast was served in the basement restaurant and again was served with care and warmth. The staff were always courteous and helpful, assisting us in finding restaurants within easy walking distance and helping us to book cruises etc. We could easily walk to the museums and art galleries using one of their umbrellas to ward off the rain!
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and on my next visit to Amsterdam I have every intention of staying there again! hoping to get the same room and meet the same, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go high! Views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    334
    100
    25
    11
See reviews for
93
364
46
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very pleasant welcome, room presentable and clean with two easy chairs, table, desk and bedside cabinets, tea/coffee facilities, shower over bath, television, hairdryer and all toiletries provided.

Good guidance from staff what to see and do, whatever we asked for we were advised about.

A very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Use the bus 197 from Amsterdam Airport, stops 400 metres from the hotel, a short walk to the Hotel and only cost 4 Euros each as opposed to getting a taxi which would cost 45 Euros.

The Hotel is within easy reach/walking distance of all sight seeing venues in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a view over the canal, very picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

if you are not looking for a 5 star hotel, but a good one in the best location, this is the for you.
1 minute walk from the Leidseplein, a tram station at the front of the hotel, the room are not big but well organized and well fitured.
please take in considoration that there is no "Loby ". just a reception and then rooms.
we've had no noise from the tram, yet i can understand the reviews with a notice, if your room is facing the street.
ask for a high floor

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merksem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked one night in this hotel. Whilst driving to Amsterdam, one hour before arriving, we received a phone call from the hotel that there had been an overbooking! They had booked us in another hotel already, without consulting us. Really annoying considering we carefully planned the trip and now lost time looking for parking space etc.
You would expect a small gesture, but nothing. They "upgraded" the room in the new hotel, so they said, but that was the least of our worries.
An overbooking is one thing, but last minute is something I have a hard time understanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Marketing / Sales Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Mario,

Thank you for your reaction concerning your overbooking last weekend. We contacted you before arriving at our hotel, so you could drive direct to the Victoria Hotel, the hotel we booked for you. Next to the Victoria Hotel is a very big public parking, so you could park close by. We arranged, as compensation for the inconvenience, upgraded accommodation is this superior 4 star Hotel at the same price you reserved in our hotel.
We understand your disapointment and we will upgade you to our Penthouse Suite, without any extra charges, during your next visit to Amsterdam. Please refer tot this correspondence.
We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2014. Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a couple of nights early December. Couldn't have picked a better hotel. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to see and do, and we walked almost everywhere (although there is a tram stop is just across the road). We were delighted with the very spacious and clean room which was on the 5th floor and easily accessible from the lift. Although we didn't book a canal view, we were able to see the Prinsengracht canal and had a fantastic view across Amersterdam from the balcony, which was a lovely and unexpected surprise. The great location of the hotel does however, mean some noise from the street below at night, the level of which of course depends on who is doing the partying!

Breakfast options were good with plenty of choices of breads, pastries, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, along with hot bacon and scrambled eggs.

Hotel staff were professional, helpful and very pleasant. Taxi service used by the hotel was a very reasonable rate and actually cheaper than a shuttle service.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and am already thinking about planning another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_kmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iklin, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of the Leidseplein area and a nice walk from all the main areas in Amsterdam. It also has a tram stop for 3 of the main trams directly going to the Amsterdam Central Station just in front of the Hotel.

Hotel offers very spacious rooms with free wifi which was perfrect. Breakfast is a bit poor and is not included in price would not take it. Some rooms are not accessible direct from lift and some steps going up or down are required to be taken.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Up until a certain time the tram bells can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is right along the Prinsengracht canal, and in the center of the city. From the airport, we just took the train to Centraal Station, and then take the trolley to right in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to the Anne Frank house, many of the popular museums, and to the start of a bike tour. The cons to the location is that this city does not go to sleep early, and it can be rather noisy from the street on a Saturday evening if you plan on going to bed early. You also can hear the occasional ringing of the tram bell.

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite which is VERY spacious and offered a larger bed, which I discovered is hard to come by in Amsterdam. The view is fantastic from the suite as it had huge pane glass windows that overlooked the city. However, to get up to the penthouse it required navigating up a very narrow, steep spiral stair case from the elevator. It’s wasn’t took much of an issue for my wife and I who are young and fit. However, and elderly or infirmed individual would have issues with it. Carrying our luggage into the room took a real physical effort. Also, the elevator was out of order when we checked in. The staff stored our luggage in bag check until it was repaired later that afternoon.

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth it, if you can navigate the spiral staircase to get into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#54 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing