We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Overbooked last minute???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #71 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Merksem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overbooked last minute???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked one night in this hotel. Whilst driving to Amsterdam, one hour before arriving, we received a phone call from the hotel that there had been an overbooking! They had booked us in another hotel already, without consulting us. Really annoying considering we carefully planned the trip and now lost time looking for parking space etc.
You would expect a small gesture, but nothing. They "upgraded" the room in the new hotel, so they said, but that was the least of our worries.
An overbooking is one thing, but last minute is something I have a hard time understanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnetha t, Marketing / Sales Department at Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Mario,

Thank you for your reaction concerning your overbooking last weekend. We contacted you before arriving at our hotel, so you could drive direct to the Victoria Hotel, the hotel we booked for you. Next to the Victoria Hotel is a very big public parking, so you could park close by. We arranged, as compensation for the inconvenience, upgraded accommodation is this superior 4 star Hotel at the same price you reserved in our hotel.
We understand your disapointment and we will upgade you to our Penthouse Suite, without any extra charges, during your next visit to Amsterdam. Please refer tot this correspondence.
We wish you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy 2014. Kind regards, Agnetha ten Hove | Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    345
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
98
378
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed with a friend for a couple of nights early December. Couldn't have picked a better hotel. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to see and do, and we walked almost everywhere (although there is a tram stop is just across the road). We were delighted with the very spacious and clean room which was on the 5th floor and easily accessible from the lift. Although we didn't book a canal view, we were able to see the Prinsengracht canal and had a fantastic view across Amersterdam from the balcony, which was a lovely and unexpected surprise. The great location of the hotel does however, mean some noise from the street below at night, the level of which of course depends on who is doing the partying!

Breakfast options were good with plenty of choices of breads, pastries, boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, along with hot bacon and scrambled eggs.

Hotel staff were professional, helpful and very pleasant. Taxi service used by the hotel was a very reasonable rate and actually cheaper than a shuttle service.

Would not hesitate to stay here again and am already thinking about planning another trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_kmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iklin, Malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of the Leidseplein area and a nice walk from all the main areas in Amsterdam. It also has a tram stop for 3 of the main trams directly going to the Amsterdam Central Station just in front of the Hotel.

Hotel offers very spacious rooms with free wifi which was perfrect. Breakfast is a bit poor and is not included in price would not take it. Some rooms are not accessible direct from lift and some steps going up or down are required to be taken.

All in all a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Up until a certain time the tram bells can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is right along the Prinsengracht canal, and in the center of the city. From the airport, we just took the train to Centraal Station, and then take the trolley to right in front of the hotel. We were able to walk to the Anne Frank house, many of the popular museums, and to the start of a bike tour. The cons to the location is that this city does not go to sleep early, and it can be rather noisy from the street on a Saturday evening if you plan on going to bed early. You also can hear the occasional ringing of the tram bell.

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite which is VERY spacious and offered a larger bed, which I discovered is hard to come by in Amsterdam. The view is fantastic from the suite as it had huge pane glass windows that overlooked the city. However, to get up to the penthouse it required navigating up a very narrow, steep spiral stair case from the elevator. It’s wasn’t took much of an issue for my wife and I who are young and fit. However, and elderly or infirmed individual would have issues with it. Carrying our luggage into the room took a real physical effort. Also, the elevator was out of order when we checked in. The staff stored our luggage in bag check until it was repaired later that afternoon.

Room Tip: The penthouse is worth it, if you can navigate the spiral staircase to get into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam and staying at this hotel was one of the main reasons why. It's a quaint little hotel but with very spacious rooms, which is quite unusual around this area. We had a nice view overlooking the canal. What's more, it's walking distance to attractions, shopping areas, numerous restaurants, public transportation and one of the stops for the hop on, hop off tour bus. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

For those of you that have visited Amsterdam you already know that it is difficult to find a hotel near the city center that is descent with comfortable rooms and at a reasonable price. you always get 2 out of three. In this case I could not get the price. Still it has been the most spacious room I've ever had in Amsterdam. The breakfast was rather poor for such a hotel price. Location is perfect. The security issue that you have to leave your key at the reception (and if not you need a passport in order to enter) strikes strange for such a hotel.

Room Tip: if you carry bulky or numerous luggage ask for a room directly accessible through the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkarase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

In the excellent location, just a couple of stops from Dame square, walking distance to Van Gough museum. Quite a large room, very clean and very very nice view go the canal. The breakfast was very good and in the beautiful breakfast room. Ask for room with a view!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#89 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing