We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location with a good canal view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #65 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location with a good canal view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam and staying at this hotel was one of the main reasons why. It's a quaint little hotel but with very spacious rooms, which is quite unusual around this area. We had a nice view overlooking the canal. What's more, it's walking distance to attractions, shopping areas, numerous restaurants, public transportation and one of the stops for the hop on, hop off tour bus. We would definitely recommend this hotel if you want to be in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    348
    106
    25
    12
See reviews for
100
390
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

For those of you that have visited Amsterdam you already know that it is difficult to find a hotel near the city center that is descent with comfortable rooms and at a reasonable price. you always get 2 out of three. In this case I could not get the price. Still it has been the most spacious room I've ever had in Amsterdam. The breakfast was rather poor for such a hotel price. Location is perfect. The security issue that you have to leave your key at the reception (and if not you need a passport in order to enter) strikes strange for such a hotel.

Room Tip: if you carry bulky or numerous luggage ask for a room directly accessible through the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkarase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

In the excellent location, just a couple of stops from Dame square, walking distance to Van Gough museum. Quite a large room, very clean and very very nice view go the canal. The breakfast was very good and in the beautiful breakfast room. Ask for room with a view!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOVE
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I have stayed in Amsterdam many times, usually using a ' corporate ' hotel, so this was a real change.
The location is excellent - near to Leidseplein and tram stops. Our room was unusually spacious for this city, and was very comfortable. The bar and restaurant was closed on the Sunday night that we stayed, but both looked well presented. The staff were very efficient and friendly.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and will stay there again the next time I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOVEEAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dikker & Thijs is situated just around the corner from Leidseplein, in the middle of "everything" in Amsterdam. The rooms are quite large and with different lay-outs, which makes the stay more personal.

When my husband an I and Our friends visited a couple of weeks ago, we had a terrific stay, and the staff was polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Trying to sleep on a saturday night in a room facing Leidsestraat was not not a sucsess ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nvetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The people at the reception were very pleasant. We booked the Canal District 2013 Package and were not disappointed. The room faced the canal with good wifi. It was a nice size room and the bathroom had a good shower.The breakfast was included in the rate and was the typical European breakfast. The location is great if you want to be in the Leidsplein area.

Room Tip: No information about any of the other rooms---I do not want my name or email address published
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barkleyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Really great area and i found it nice and quiet, my room was canal side not on the main street which would be noisier. The room was and hotel décor is a bit worn but everything was clean. the staff were friendly and accommodating. breakfast was really good too but at 15 euros extra make sure you get breakfast included. My room was a bit small so for a couple with an infant it would be too small but my collogue had a room 50 % bigger at the same standard

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deekburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing