We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class at an affordable price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
Ranked #55 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel with a touch of class.
The rooms are very well appointed with reproduction furniture and drapes.
We never used the dining room so unable to comment but the location is superb as the front door is quite literally 15 metres from a tram stop and round the corner from the Leidseplein.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILSHILS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Dikker & Thijs Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 868 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

A pleasant stay near bats and restaurants. Loved walking along the canal. We didn't use hotel breakfasts. We alike and had breakfast at nearby places. Close to museums and can walk into city or take canal boat

Room Tip: We had a quiet room near the back
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, a very pleasant hotel with great service. Only down side was that it felt a little dated but was very clean none the less. Location is superb as mentioned in all reviews prior! Would definitely stay again....

Room Tip: Wifi on the 4th floor wasn't great.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved the location, overlooking the canal, walking distance to everything I wanted to see and do, and easy access to the tram for the central station. Front desk staff was always pleasant and helpful, wîfi worked well, the rooms had good lighting and a spotless and efficient bathroom; the bed was very comfortable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dikker and Thijs over a weekend. We were delighted with the location. It is right on the Prinsengracht Canal so you are within walking distance of everything. You really feel you are right in the buzz of Amsterdam. Our room was big and bright and comfortable. It was also very clean. We were at the back of the hotel so did not have a view but it was very quiet. The staff were very efficient and helpful if asked. The breakfast was what I would term as sufficient but the coffee was great, something that lets other hotels down! You pay for breakfast separately. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank morangie10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just recently returned from a 3 night break staying at this hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

The location was perfect. 5 or 6 stops on the tram from Centraal station. Within reach of the main attractions and some lovely restaurants and outdoor bars in the area. The hotel sits right on the Prinsengracht canal and only a few meters from the tram stop.

The hotel itself was very welcoming. I had requested a high floor and view and they did not disappoint. We were given room 408 which overlooked the canal and had patio doors which we opened and sat watching the world go by. Wedding not experience some of the noise Previously mentioned other than usual city noise (except for Sunday...more in a moment)

I really don't blame the hotel. They could do nothing, but on Sunday the city was invaded by drunken football fans celebrating Ajax winning the championship. The hotel is situated very close to the main square where bars are located and the football,is watched. It was a nightmare. If you are visiting make sure Ajax haven't got a significant match on during the period of your stay. It's a real nightmare.

In short, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again, we were well looked after and enjoyed our stay greatly. I will just keep a closer eye on be fixtures next time!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to your stay
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Rembrandtplein
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#86 of 371 in Amsterdam
441 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#42 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,075 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#83 of 371 in Amsterdam
763 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#58 of 371 in Amsterdam
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $154 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing