We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Ranked #72 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Watford
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Dikker and Thijs over a weekend. We were delighted with the location. It is right on the Prinsengracht Canal so you are within walking distance of everything. You really feel you are right in the buzz of Amsterdam. Our room was big and bright and comfortable. It was also very clean. We were at the back of the hotel so did not have a view but it was very quiet. The staff were very efficient and helpful if asked. The breakfast was what I would term as sufficient but the coffee was great, something that lets other hotels down! You pay for breakfast separately. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    345
    105
    25
    11
See reviews for
98
378
47
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just recently returned from a 3 night break staying at this hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

The location was perfect. 5 or 6 stops on the tram from Centraal station. Within reach of the main attractions and some lovely restaurants and outdoor bars in the area. The hotel sits right on the Prinsengracht canal and only a few meters from the tram stop.

The hotel itself was very welcoming. I had requested a high floor and view and they did not disappoint. We were given room 408 which overlooked the canal and had patio doors which we opened and sat watching the world go by. Wedding not experience some of the noise Previously mentioned other than usual city noise (except for Sunday...more in a moment)

I really don't blame the hotel. They could do nothing, but on Sunday the city was invaded by drunken football fans celebrating Ajax winning the championship. The hotel is situated very close to the main square where bars are located and the football,is watched. It was a nightmare. If you are visiting make sure Ajax haven't got a significant match on during the period of your stay. It's a real nightmare.

In short, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again, we were well looked after and enjoyed our stay greatly. I will just keep a closer eye on be fixtures next time!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel prior to your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First impressions are always the best and Dikker &Thijs Fenince does not disappoint. The staff went over and above to help me resolve a booking error (that was totally my fault) but online travel service (not the hotel) had trouble canceling a room, the staff continued to update me of staus of my reservation, called the travel,service themselves to try and help resolve my issue that took over a months time.

It is conviently located on the tram line (take 1,2 or 5) and was a pleasant sight for three exhausted travelers who just blindly jumped on a tram with luggage and had no idea where they were going. Plenty of resturants with in 5 Mis walk from fast food to elegant sit down dinners.

Our room was comfortable, plenty of space for three adults in the triple room and overlooked the canal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this from the hotel where every 3 minutes a tram rumbles by outside my room. Impossible to sleep. If you are into trainspotting this is the place for you but if you come to a hotel to sleep I suggest you stay somewhere else.

Management would not let me check out and refund me despite this happening in the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights 4 people in 2 rooms and I have only good to say about this hotel. We had large and well light rooms, the one I had probably the best in the house. Not cheap, maybe a somewhat on the expensive side but still fair value for my money as I remember we were there at the very height of the season. Very good breakfast, good dinner at the hotel restaurant, helpful staff, dead center location, what else can a short term visitor expect?

Room Tip: Room facing North-East overlooking the canal, sun through window in the morning. Room 304 large and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosefLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a great place in a very convenient location. It is down the street from the Leidseplein, a short walk from the main shopping area, and only a 10 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby and the tram stops in front of the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, fronting on the Prinsengracht with a very comfortable bed and good amenities, including free WiFi. Even though the tram was close and lots of people on the street, noise was not a problem. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What more to like? I will return here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting the Prinsengracht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#84 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#45 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel

Property: Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
Address: Prinsengracht 444, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along the beautiful Prinsengracht canal, you will find Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel. A historical four star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Experience a luxurious ambiance and walk to almost all famous sights. Most of the beautiful 42 hotel rooms of Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel have an amazing canal view. French cuisine is offered at Restaurant Thijs which also serves dishes with international influences and uses seasonal, fresh ingredients. A lounge and private dining room on the first floor offers scenic canal views. From Dikker en Thijs Fenice Hotel, you can easily walk to the main museums. Shopping streets and plenty of restaurants are nearby as well. The tram stop is right around the corner. Amsterdam City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in food, nightlife and walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dikker And Thijs Fenice Hotel
Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel
Hotel Dikker Thijs Fenice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing